Notices
'10-14 Interior and Audio Place to discuss 2010-2014 interior and audio type modifications.

'13-14 Cluster into '10-12 car (with TrackApps) retrofit

Old 3/2/13, 01:56 PM
  #21  
Shelby GT500 Member
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,676
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
The switch that turns on the headlights. Beside it is the dimmer switch. Below it are 3 buttons 'INFO', 'RESET' and something else. 2010 - 2012 cars have these. I am seeing pics of 2013 cars that have them and some that don't. I would like someone that has a 2013 with the LCD screen in the cluster to tell me if their car has those buttons.
jim010 is offline  
Old 3/2/13, 02:46 PM
  #22  
Banned
 
Join Date: July 4, 2012
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,982
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
it doesn't have them. all the controls are on the steering wheel. those that would have those buttons don't have trackapps/premium clusters.
TheDivaDanielle is offline  
Old 3/2/13, 08:38 PM
  #23  
Shelby GT500 Member
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,676
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
OK, here is what I found at the dealership today.

Both cars had the LCD screen in the cluster, but 1 had no buttons on the headlight switch module, while the other car did. Again, both cars had the LCD screen. Can anyone tell me what the buttons are for?

Third pic is of the steering wheel switches. This is where the message centre buttons are relocated to from the headlight switch module.
Attached Thumbnails '13-14 Cluster into '10-12 car (with TrackApps) retrofit-dash1.jpg   '13-14 Cluster into '10-12 car (with TrackApps) retrofit-dash3.jpg   '13-14 Cluster into '10-12 car (with TrackApps) retrofit-dash2.jpg  
jim010 is offline  
Old 3/2/13, 08:44 PM
  #24  
Banned
 
Join Date: July 4, 2012
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,982
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by jim010 View Post
OK, here is what I found at the dealership today.

Both cars had the LCD screen in the cluster, but 1 had no buttons on the headlight switch module, while the other car did. Again, both cars had the LCD screen. Can anyone tell me what the buttons are for?

Third pic is of the steering wheel switches. This is where the message centre buttons are relocated to from the headlight switch module.
Launch control... And maybe the adjustable damping?
TheDivaDanielle is offline  
Old 3/2/13, 08:49 PM
  #25  
Shelby GT500 Member
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,676
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
Launch control makes sense.

The symbol is of a steering wheel, so I assumed it was to adjust the steering feel. But I assumed all Mustangs had this feature, and so it should not be optional? What option group is this from?

Anyone have this?
jim010 is offline  
Old 3/2/13, 08:55 PM
  #26  
Shelby GT500 Member
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,676
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
This shot has the middle button with a symbol that looks like a shock. Maybe the damping that you mentioned, but I wasn't aware that 2013s had the option of adjusting dampers from inside the cabin.
Attached Thumbnails '13-14 Cluster into '10-12 car (with TrackApps) retrofit-dash4.jpg  
jim010 is offline  
Old 3/2/13, 09:53 PM
  #27  
Shelby GT500 Member
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,676
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
OK, looks like those buttons on the headlight switch module are for the Advance Trac Stability Enhancement System.

This system is only found on the 2013 - on Shelbys. LC is indeed launch control. The middle button is the adjustment for the Bilstein dampers and the right button is for steerintg feel. Danielle was right here.

So now I have my answer. This system is not needed (and not available) on regular Mustangs with the premium 2013 cluster.

Last edited by jim010; 3/3/13 at 11:53 AM.
jim010 is offline  
Old 3/2/13, 11:28 PM
  #28  
Shelby GT500 Member
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,676
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
This article is of interest. Proves there are no new sensors added in2013 to get track apps.

www.sae.org/mags/aei/10770

Last edited by jim010; 3/3/13 at 11:36 AM. Reason: fixing link
jim010 is offline  
Old 3/3/13, 05:25 AM
  #29  
Shelby GT500 Member
 
conv_stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: March 3, 2004
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 2,630
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by jim010 View Post
This article is of interest. Proves there are no new sensors added in2013 to get track apps.

Www.sae.org/mags/aei/10770
Link doesn't work for me
conv_stang is offline  
Old 3/3/13, 07:26 AM
  #30  
GT Member
Thread Starter
 
COYOTEHP's Avatar
 
Join Date: February 5, 2011
Location: Staten Island
Posts: 100
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
There's a guage cluster in eBay out of a 2013 but its a automatic. Does anyone know if the auto and manuals are different?
COYOTEHP is offline  
Old 3/3/13, 11:35 AM
  #31  
Shelby GT500 Member
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,676
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
Originally Posted by conv_stang View Post
Link doesn't work for me
Hmm, I can't say why. I click on it and it works. Try typing it in manually.

As for the differences in the gauges, there is a difference between V6 and V8.

There is also a difference between GT, Boss and Shelby, but it is only in the gauge faces, to my understanding. Auto vs manual should make no difference.

Where did you see the cluster? Seems to be gone?
jim010 is offline  
Old 3/3/13, 09:58 PM
  #32  
GT Member
Thread Starter
 
COYOTEHP's Avatar
 
Join Date: February 5, 2011
Location: Staten Island
Posts: 100
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Someone on here prob bought that sucker right up. It had a buy it now of 179 with like 900 miles on the odo.
COYOTEHP is offline  
Old 3/5/13, 12:33 PM
  #33  
GT Member
 
BadHabit2Break's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 30, 2012
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 197
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by TheDivaDanielle View Post
headlight switch with buttons?
I assuming he is saying the INFO, RESET buttons.
BadHabit2Break is offline  
Old 3/5/13, 10:11 PM
  #34  
Shelby GT500 Member
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,676
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
I got a cluster out of California. A friend will be sending it up to me here in Canada.

I'm into this now. Guess we'll now find out if this will work or not from a 2013 to a 2012.

My guess is if you already have a 2013 base, this would work, though.
jim010 is offline  
Old 3/5/13, 10:14 PM
  #35  
Shelby GT350 Member
 
dmhines's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 11, 2006
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 2,348
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Maybe it will work with 2012 buttons under headlight switch without rewiring to steering wheel buttons.
dmhines is offline  
Old 3/5/13, 10:18 PM
  #36  
Shelby GT350 Member
 
dmhines's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 11, 2006
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 2,348
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
FYI. To get past PATS issue and test cluster you can start car with original cluster. While car is running you can swap clusters and car willl stay running until you turn it off.
dmhines is offline  
Old 3/6/13, 05:53 AM
  #37  
V6 Member
 
10MustangGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 27, 2012
Posts: 96
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by dmhines View Post
FYI. To get past PATS issue and test cluster you can start car with original cluster. While car is running you can swap clusters and car willl stay running until you turn it off.
I tried this with mine when I purchased a GT500 cluster and it did not work for me.. I also had a pin broken, so that may have been the issue.
10MustangGT is offline  
Old 3/6/13, 05:57 AM
  #38  
Shelby GT350 Member
 
dmhines's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 11, 2006
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 2,348
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by 10MustangGT View Post
I tried this with mine when I purchased a GT500 cluster and it did not work for me.. I also had a pin broken, so that may have been the issue.
I remember that. It did work in my 2010 when experimenting with a gt500 cluster.
dmhines is offline  
Old 3/6/13, 08:40 AM
  #39  
Shelby GT500 Member
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,676
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
Originally Posted by dmhines View Post
I remember that. It did work in my 2010 when experimenting with a gt500 cluster.
Did you get the cluster to work?
jim010 is offline  
Old 3/6/13, 08:41 AM
  #40  
Shelby GT350 Member
 
dmhines's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 11, 2006
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 2,348
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by jim010 View Post
Did you get the cluster to work?
Yes. Had dealer reprogram PATS so cluster would start the car.
dmhines is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: '13-14 Cluster into '10-12 car (with TrackApps) retrofit


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.