Mustang Motorsports All forms of racing and motorsports activity allowed!

Track Related Mods

Search this Thread

Old 3/6/16, 09:27 AM
Banned

Received 254 Likes on 230 Posts
I have no experience with cryo rotors, but I'm with redonblack here. Blanks are your most reliable bet for track duty. Largest surface area and good heat dissipation with vented disks.

Drilled rotors are more prone to cracking unless they are stress relieved or cast with the holes vs being drilled after. Slotted work ok, but I've heard people having NVH issues due to pad impact with the slot edge.

Last edited by 5.M0NSTER; 3/6/16 at 09:29 AM.
Old 3/6/16, 11:47 AM
Bullitt Member

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
How many track days you get out of Centric blanks? What the best source for them (cheapest prices)?

The guy in our local club that spends the most time on track says he can go the whole year on Frozen Rotors but at 3x the price (based on Rock Auto pricing)...as long as I don't have to change them 3x in a year I'm good. My stock rotors as still doing good after 5 track days last year. This year I'm going to swap the rotors and probably get some Carbotech pads and just save whats left of the stock rotor life for street duty.
Old 3/6/16, 12:15 PM
Banned

I have 7 days with my stock Brembo rotors + ~18k street miles, and still no sign of cracks or any major scoring. I'm hoping to get 4 more days out of them this year and around 25k miles, and replace them in time for 2017 season. I'd expect the Centric stuff to last just about as long.

LMR has a decent price on 14" blanks
https://lmr.com/item/LRS-1102HGT500/...nt-Brake-Rotor

Rotor life depends on how aggressive the pads are. I use XP10s up front, and they have been fairly gentle on the rotors so far. I've scrubbed a whole set on my current rotors.
Old 3/6/16, 12:53 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 166 Likes on 141 Posts
I've gotten Centric's from Amazon before. Prime shipping!
Old 3/6/16, 01:26 PM
Bullitt Member