BOSS parts in the 2011 FRP catalog - Page 7 - The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums

Notices
2012-2013 BOSS 302

BOSS parts in the 2011 FRP catalog

Reply

 
 
 
Old 2/4/11, 05:20 PM
  #121  
V6 Member
 
Join Date: December 31, 2010
Location: Roy, Washington
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kristin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/4/11, 05:30 PM
  #122  
Tasca Super Boss 429 Member
 
5 DOT 0's Avatar
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by mwilson7 View Post
So you cancelled your order without even knowing what the cover looked like?
Yes. Do you have a photo??? My car will be garaged and I don't have much use for the CC. If I want one I buy it later but I doubt it unless it's super cool looking. I'll use that money for the gauge pack instead. Anyone know if the gauge pack will be plug and play?

Last edited by 5 DOT 0; 2/4/11 at 05:34 PM.
5 DOT 0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/4/11, 05:37 PM
  #123  
Super Moderator
TMS Staff
 
Overboost's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 28, 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 6,284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 5 DOT 0 View Post
Anyone know if the gauge pack will be plug and play?
It looks to be. Not sure where it connects though.
Overboost is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/4/11, 05:47 PM
  #124  
Tasca Super Boss 429 Member
 
5 DOT 0's Avatar
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Location: NorCal
Posts: 3,708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Overboost View Post
It looks to be. Not sure where it connects though.
I hope through the computer under the dash.
5 DOT 0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/4/11, 06:40 PM
  #125  
Bullitt Member
 
Dean#4AI's Avatar
 
Join Date: October 21, 2004
Location: Warsaw, IN
Posts: 423
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Big Vito View Post
I didn't cancel, what is $475 when the car is $47,000+
Exactly!
Dean#4AI is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/4/11, 06:51 PM
  #126  
Super Moderator
TMS Staff
 
Overboost's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 28, 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 6,284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 5 DOT 0 View Post
I hope through the computer under the dash.
I hope that it doesn't occupy the OBD2 port.
Overboost is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/4/11, 06:54 PM
  #127  
Mach 1 Member
 
4pipes's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 14, 2011
Location: NorCal
Posts: 583
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Dean#4AI View Post
Exactly!
+1
4pipes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/4/11, 07:03 PM
  #128  
Cobra R Member
 
2012YellowBoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: December 3, 2010
Posts: 1,851
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Nccstud View Post
I was going to get them because I figured it would be cool having the "official" ones right when I got the car. Until I saw the pictures of the mats anyways. What a disappointment. So I guess I'll have to start shopping around now for a cover and some sweet mats
Well I have the originals but for the money not worth it. I am hoping to find a custom set in better quality with heavy backing. I am not real good with the computer stuff but for a general idea of what I would like here are some pics.

I think the mats would look good with the same logo that is on the seats place on the mats high or low like this. The color could match the car, red for LS and red cars, blue, white, yellow and orange.
Attached Thumbnails BOSS parts in the 2011 FRP catalog-mats1.jpg   BOSS parts in the 2011 FRP catalog-mats2.jpg  

Last edited by 2012YellowBoss; 6/26/11 at 12:44 AM.
2012YellowBoss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/4/11, 07:28 PM
  #129  
Mach 1 Member
 
4pipes's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 14, 2011
Location: NorCal
Posts: 583
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You know, I used to go nuts over mats too, until I realized the only time I noticed them was when I put them in and when I shook them out!
4pipes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/4/11, 09:06 PM
  #130  
Banned
 
Join Date: June 11, 2010
Posts: 894
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Overboost View Post
It looks to be. Not sure where it connects though.
+. -. and connections to the water temp and oil pressure sensor and dash lights are all that's needed for the guage pack. Shouldn't need connection into the OBD system at all.
OAC_Sparky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/4/11, 09:23 PM
  #131  
Super Moderator
TMS Staff
 
Overboost's Avatar
 
Join Date: September 28, 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 6,284
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by OAC_Sparky View Post
+. -. and connections to the water temp and oil pressure sensor and dash lights are all that's needed for the guage pack. Shouldn't need connection into the OBD system at all.
Does the current oil pressure sensor in the non-Boss vehicles read back a full value or is it just an on/off type sensor?

I'd like to see a plug & play type harness, but I don't think that'll be the case.
Overboost is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/5/11, 07:51 AM
  #132  
Team Mustang Source
 
Join Date: May 30, 2004
Posts: 386
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Overboost View Post
Does the current oil pressure sensor in the non-Boss vehicles read back a full value or is it just an on/off type sensor?

I'd like to see a plug & play type harness, but I don't think that'll be the case.
I could be wrong, but I was under the impression that the on/off style readout for oil pressure was the fault of the gauge, not the sensor. I thought the sensor was capable of reading 0-whatever psi, but after leaving the senor, the electrical signal was then dumbed down into an of/off style readout.

I could be totally wrong about this though.
Berol is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/5/11, 10:11 AM
  #133  
Shelby GT350 Member
 
cloud9's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 20, 2010
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 2,384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by OAC_Sparky View Post
+. -. and connections to the water temp and oil pressure sensor and dash lights are all that's needed for the guage pack. Shouldn't need connection into the OBD system at all.
For those gauges that's correct. For the "performance gauge" it will require many more inputs. It wouldn't necessarily have to be the connection to OBDII, but all that data would be available there. Like I've said before, the Aeroforce gauge I have in my GT500 will measure all of these inputs and more for $250.

Frankly, the gauge pack from Ford doesn't even look like it belongs in the place where they have it on the top of the dash. It looks after-market at best. I will still be looking for an A/C pod holder for an Aeroforce gauge, or if it's not visible to the left of the steering wheel, I might have to break down and go 'A' pillar.
cloud9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/5/11, 10:12 AM
  #134  
Shelby GT350 Member
 
cloud9's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 20, 2010
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 2,384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Overboost View Post
Does the current oil pressure sensor in the non-Boss vehicles read back a full value or is it just an on/off type sensor?
case.
That's the way it is on my GT500. To Berol's question, I think it's the signal. According to Aeroforce, to get oil pressure readings, you have to install a pressure sensor. Obviously there's some type of signal going to the stock on/off gauge, but may not provide an actaul reading no matter what gauge is used.

Last edited by cloud9; 2/5/11 at 10:14 AM.
cloud9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/5/11, 10:42 AM
  #135  
Banned
 
Join Date: June 11, 2010
Posts: 894
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by cloud9 View Post
For those gauges that's correct. For the "performance gauge" it will require many more inputs. It wouldn't necessarily have to be the connection to OBDII, but all that data would be available there
The "performance guage" actually is the easiest of all of the guages to hook up. It's only an Autometer D-PIC with a Ford Racing logo on it. It does NOT hook into the OBD system, all it needs is +, -. and a tap for the dashlights so that the display dims when you turn the lights on.

This is how I know:

Last edited by OAC_Sparky; 3/14/11 at 08:54 AM.
OAC_Sparky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/5/11, 10:50 AM
  #136  
Banned
 
Join Date: June 11, 2010
Posts: 894
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
By the way, I'll repeat what I have to say about the gauge:

Originally Posted by OAC_Sparky View Post
I would be interested in the pod itself but not really the DPIC. I have one in my car and it's a pain in the ***; it's basically an accelerometer and timer that computes 0-60 times, 60-0 times, HP, etc. But when you're not using it it doesn't self-calibrate, and is an annoying distraction blinking and flashing at you. Trust me, I have it in a pillar pod and it wore out its welcome inside of two weeks after the gee-whiz factor wore off. I bought it to compliment a programmable shift light, my car only has double gauge pods available so I had to choose a second gauge. Big mistake. If I could extract the DPIC cleanly without wrecking the paint job on the pod I'd have done it by now.

That said, the gauge itself CAN be useful -- my advice though is to buy the Autometer windshield mount cup for it http://www.autometer.com/cat_accessoriesdetail.aspx?vid=186 and put it away when you're not using it.
OAC_Sparky is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/5/11, 11:57 AM
  #137  
Shelby GT350 Member
 
cloud9's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 20, 2010
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 2,384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by OAC_Sparky View Post
The "performance guage" actually is the easiest of all of the guages to hook up. It's only an Autometer D-PIC with a Ford Racing logo on it. It does NOT hook into the OBD system, all it needs is +, -. and a tap for the dashlights so that the display dims when you turn the lights on.

This is how I know:
OAC where is it getting the inputs? From the dash gauges (tach, speedo, etc?)
cloud9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/5/11, 12:06 PM
  #138  
Shelby GT350 Member
 
cloud9's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 20, 2010
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 2,384
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Here's a pic. It will display everything and more that the FRPP gauge pack will along with a shift light. Unfortunately with the rectangular a/c vents in the center console it would have to be in the vent on the left of the wheel, A pillar, or in a dash gauge pod just like the FRPP. I prefer the stealth of the A/C vent as my GT500 is a total sleeper. All the mods were made for performance and not cosmetics.

The GPS lap timer to the right of it is only in for track days so it's not direct wired and uses the 12v accessory port for power.
Attached Images  

Last edited by cloud9; 2/5/11 at 12:09 PM.
cloud9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/5/11, 12:34 PM
  #139  
Member
 
copracer288's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 29, 2010
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I like that Aeroforce gauge. If it will show knock retard for the 5.0 (their website indicates it will for the 4.6L) then it's on my list.
copracer288 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 2/5/11, 04:17 PM
  #140  
Banned
 
Join Date: June 11, 2010
Posts: 894
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by cloud9 View Post
OAC where is it getting the inputs? From the dash gauges (tach, speedo, etc?)
It doesn't. I doesn't need any inputs apart from power and the dashlight to dim the display at night.

It is basically longitudinal (front-back) and lateral (side-side) accelerometers and a calculator.

Basically, acceleration is the key. Acceleration will give you a "G" or "gee" reading, one "G" being 10m/s^2, Add a timer to this, sustain an acceleration over a peroid of time and you get a velocity. Sustain a velocity over time and you get distance.

So basically, what the meter does is when you put it into a mode, say, quarter mile time, it gives you a countdown/light tree and when it tells you "GO!" starts a stopwatch. It monitors the accelerometers, figures your speed out at any given point until it calculates that you've travelled 1/4 mile. Same with 0-60, 60-0, punch in your vehicle weight and it estimates the horespower to the ground.

Is it perfect? No. But it's pretty close.
OAC_Sparky is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: BOSS parts in the 2011 FRP catalog


Featured Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.