05-09 Interior and Audio Mods Enhancing Your Mustang's Interior and Sound System

retrofit a 2013/14 cluster

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 11/16/14, 08:28 AM
  #141  
Mach 1 Member
 
zeroaviation's Avatar
 
Join Date: March 1, 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 669
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Ok, so here is my weekend update!

Today I focused mainly on hardware part of it.

Somethings I have had to take in consideration are
1. Need expendability on analog inputs, not only for this project but I want to make one new black box for all.
2. The MCU I decide to go with finally must support 2 CAN Async Controllers
3. I have yet to decide if I am going to use native code (c++) or go for a boxed solution that runs the NETMF. The downfall with NETMF is the CLR takes up resources and clock cycles. However, at the freq that we are updating this data, should not be a big deal. One MCU I am looking at is 168MHZ Cortex-M4 for the NETMF. If I do decide to go native, i'm going with a STM32F407VGT. However, native will add to my development time, which I know you guys don't want
4. Hardware design in itself, I have already started working on my PCB design, the thing with that though is wait time. By the time I submit my request to our PCB provider there is about a 3 week lead time on receiving the parts. However, I am prone to make mistakes so there may be 1 or 2 revisions. There are companies that turn the PCB's around faster, but $$$$ as always.
5. I have decided on using the SN65HVD230 for the CAN transceiver (controller is still in the air). I just requested a quote on some demo boards from waveshare. Will be a 4-8 day lead time on those since they are shipped from china (and I'm going to pay fedex shipping)
6. I am looking for a 05-09 Mustang in KC (Any trim or engine) for testing. PM me and you will be rewarded with a free tuner and tunes!

I need to find time (hopefully this evening) to build some permanent fixtures for some of the devices I am using for testing. My shelby is in my garage with a car cover, so will make woodworking a little difficult. Plus not to add its crappy cold here (18F/-8C) and my little garage heater that could just doesn't cut it.

I am also working on some software to help me decipher some of the signals. I had a very large solution already built, but due to poor source control (effin GIT) I lost most of it. So I will be spending a good bit of time trying to rebuild it, and use TFS from now on. Once I get this software close, it will be closed source, but free to the public. (Requires J2534 interface)

More to come, thank you for being patient with me on this project. It makes it harder that I do not have a car in front of me to do this swap with. Now that I don't have the resources I had at my last job, this makes it a bit more challenging. If any other devs want to join in on this project and you have C++/C# Experience hit me up. This is a closed source project, so I will be picky on who I let in on it.

Also, If anyone has a spare SJB laying around not being used. I could really use to borrow it for some time!

As always, Cheers!
-Matt

PS, attached is a sneak peak of the CAN Trans circuit.
Attached Images  

Last edited by zeroaviation; 11/16/14 at 08:35 AM.
Old 11/16/14, 10:58 AM
  #142  
Legacy TMS Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,790
Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts
We can remote test my 05 when you want.

I can look into getting a SJB to you. Does it matter V6 or V8? And are 05/06 different form 07-09?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/PASSENGER-SIDE-JUNCTION-BOX-07-08-09-Ford-Mustang-R220434-/331353360417?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&hash=item4d26330821&vxp=mtr

Last edited by jim010; 11/16/14 at 11:22 AM.
Old 11/16/14, 06:39 PM
  #143  
Mach 1 Member
 
zeroaviation's Avatar
 
Join Date: March 1, 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 669
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Hey Jim! Found them on car-part for around $30, plan on picking one up fairly soon. Does not matter what it comes from as long as 05-09 mustang
Old 11/16/14, 06:54 PM
  #144  
Legacy TMS Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,790
Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts
OK, so you don't need me to get one.

Did you still want to remote datalog on my 05?
Old 11/17/14, 06:24 AM
  #145  
Mach 1 Member
 
zeroaviation's Avatar
 
Join Date: March 1, 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 669
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by jim010
OK, so you don't need me to get one.

Did you still want to remote datalog on my 05?
They are all here in the US, so I will pick one up.

If I can get the SJB, and it works like I think it will, then I no more remote logging will be needed.

I am trying to find someone local as well, makes it easier.

-Matt
Old 11/18/14, 09:54 AM
  #146  
Mach 1 Member
 
zeroaviation's Avatar
 
Join Date: March 1, 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 669
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Another Update.

I just confirmed with one of the vendors I was looking at for a MCU that the one I was hoping would work, will indeed NOT work So I am again re-evaluating solutions.

The problem is that the module that I want to use is a non standard package. Meaning that the PCB will have to be hand assembled and reflowed.

More to come.... If anyone on here has PCB design experience please PM me.

-Matt
Old 11/18/14, 01:28 PM
  #147  
Legacy TMS Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,790
Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts
I have no idea what any of that meant.
Old 11/18/14, 01:38 PM
  #148  
Mach 1 Member
 
zeroaviation's Avatar
 
Join Date: March 1, 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 669
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
lol... I'm just trying to keep progress updated.

The hard part of this project is that its going to require 2 CAN channels, or 1 CAN Channel and a STN1110 OBD=>Serial Microcontroller.

Just means I need time to test all options, and find the best, most efficient and cost sensitive route.

-Matt
Old 11/18/14, 03:14 PM
  #149  
Legacy TMS Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,790
Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts
Originally Posted by zeroaviation
Got some updates. Here is a short list of what need to be converted. The ones in bold I have already figured out how to do it.

1. Need to convert Fuel Gauge analog signal
2. Need to convert ECT CAN signal
3. Need to convert ODO HSCAN signal
4. AFR signal will have to be built for functioning gauge on the 2013
5. ACT signal will have to be built for functioning gauge on the 2013
6. Oil temp signal will have to be built from a inferred value or actual analog input for the 2013
7. Transmission temp signal will have to be built from a inferred value or actual analog input for the 2013
8. Oil pressure can be extended from SJB to 2013 IPC
9. ABS (Parking brake, oil level, EBD) will have to be simulated via HSCAN on the 2013 cluster.
10. Airbag warning – Convert analog signal into HSCAN signal
11. Safety belt signal will have to be converted Analog to digital
12. Cruise indicator will have to be converted Digital to Digital HSCAN
13. Traction control indicator signal will have to be converted Digital to Digital HSCAN

More to come hopefully next weekend.

Cheers,
-Matt
Concerning the fuel level signal, I did find that doing the following gave a signal. It was not accurate, though, but Lexiion said a 2010 fuel pump will fix that.

The following needs to be done:

Replace fuel pump with a 2010 pump and:
On C2280C on SJB, pin #43 is the signal for the fuel level sensor. That will go to pin# 18 on the cluster.
On C2280C on SJB, pin# 31 is the return for the fuel level sensor. That goes to pin# 19 on the cluster.
On C2280C on SJB, pin# 44 is the signal for the fuel pump (fuel sender). That goes to pin# 15 on the cluster.
On C2280C on SJB, pin#31 is also the return for the fuel pump (fuel sender). It goes to pin# 16 on the cluster.
Old 11/18/14, 05:36 PM
  #150  
Legacy TMS Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,790
Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts
So just to update, this is what we have so far?



1) On the 2005 cluster, the airbag indicator and seat belt indicator and tone (24 and 23 on the plug for 2005) come from the RCM. The 2013/14 must be receiving these signals through the CANbus.

Result - no airbag warning light, no seat belt warning light, no seat belt chime

Fix - Black Box - plug these wires into the BB and then send the proper signals to the cluster via HSCAN wires, as the cluster expects.

2) Traction control indicator is a signal and return on the 2005 and so are 2 separate wires. But it is only 1 wire for 2013/14.

Result - traction control warning light is always on. TCS is off and can't be turned on?

Fix - Black Box - plug these wires into the BB and then send the proper signal to the cluster to pin 7 on the cluster.

3) The key in the ignition warning on the 2005 goes straight to the cluster to pin 13. On the 2013/14, it goes to the SJB on C2280B pin#35. Info must be sent via CANbus again.

Result - IDK

Fix - Black Box - plug the wire into the BB and then send the proper signal via the HSCAN wires to the cluster.

4) PATS is in the cluster for 2013/14 and is pin# 22 and 23. Don't need these, so don't worry about it. Car will start without it.

Result - the car & lock warning light keep flashing when car is on. No PATS?

Fix - IDK - maybe turn off PATS altogether? Or BB can somehow keep PATS working.

5) On the 2013/14 cluster, pin# 9 and 10 are for a compass.

Result - IDK

Fix - get the 10-14 autodimming mirror with compass and wire it straight to the cluster pin#9 and 10. Or leave it alone.

6) Oil pressure goes direct to the 2013/14 cluster into pin# 5. On the 2005, it goes to the SJB on C2280C pin# 42. Maybe disconnecting it to the SJB and rewiring it to go to the cluster will work? Otherwise, once again the info is sent via CANbus.

Result - no oil pressure reading

Fix - reroute the wire going to pin#42 on C2280C on the SJB. Run it to the connector on the cluster pin #5. Not sure if teh reading is accurate, but seems to be.

7) Fuel level is also sent directly to the cluster in 2013/14. In 2005 it goes to the SJB (C2280C pin# 31, 43, 44) and then CANbus to the cluster. Again I am thinking of disconnecting the wires to the SJB and rewiring them to go to the cluster instead.

Result - no fuel reading or anything associated with fuel, like average fuel consumption, km to empty etc,

Fix - reroute the wires going to the SJB to the cluster instead as shown below:

On C2280C, pin #43 is the signal for the fuel level sensor. That will go to pin# 18 on the cluster.
On C2280C, pin# 31 is the return for the fuel level sensor. That goes to pin# 19 on the cluster.
On C2280C, pin# 44 is the signal for the fuel pump (fuel sender). That goes to pin# 15 on the cluster.
On C2280C, pin#31 is also the return for the fuel pump (fuel sender). It goes to pin# 16 on the cluster.

The reading is not accurate, though. Lexiion says that a 2010 fuel pump and sensors are needed for this. Seems he is right.


8) There is no overdrive indicator on the 13/14 cluster, only hill assist indicator.

Result - hill assist does not light up.

Fix - IDK - Maybe hill assist can be changed to light up as O/D via the BB?

9) cruise control light - cruise will not work right as the resistances in the 13/14 switch are completely different, and there is a new function as well.

Result - no cruise control

Fix - The circuit board of the 13/14 switch needs to have the resistances changed to make it work almost 100%. I already have a solution for this in another thread for this, but to get the cruise lights to turn on, a module will need to be included in the BB to make the proper signals and send them via HSCAN wires.

10) parking brake light is always on

Result - parking brake warning light is always on.

Fix - IDK - BB will have to reinterpret the signal on the HSCAN wires.

11) Trunk ajar warning does not work.

Result - car gives no warning that the trunk is open.

Fix - IDK - BB will have to reinterpret the signal on the HSCAN wires.

12) TPMS has no signal as 05 didn't have TPMS.

Result - TPMS warning light is always on.

Fix - ignore or get TPMS sensors and the TPMS module for 07-09 cars?

13) High Beam indicator not working

Result - when high beam is selected, the high beam indicator will not light up. Headlights and high beams still function as they should, however.

Fix - IDK - BB will have to reinterpret the signal on the HSCAN wires.

14) extra digital guages, such as air inlet temp, air/fuel ratio, cylinder head temp, tranny temp will not work as the signals from the PCM are not recognized by the cluster.

Result - no readings for those digital guages

Fix - Black Box can reinterpret the signals on the HSCAN wires. Or you can flash the cluster using a 2010 VIN to remove those guages.

15) Track Apps won't work. Lexiion is currently trying to get this to work in his 2010 car, but even though he got the 13/14 ABS module, he still can't get it to work. I think not possible for 05-09 cars.

Result - track apps will display but not be functional.

Fix - Flash the cluster to that of a 10 car. Then Track Apps will be removed from the menu altogether. Or BB could have the sensors built into it and send this to cluster via HSCAN wires.

16) Cluster is in night mode and can't be changed to daytime mode.

Result - cluster will always be in night time mode

Fix - IDK - BB will have to reinterpret signal on HSCAN wires.

17) Steering selection and ambient lighting are selectable on the cluster, but not available on the car.

Result - you can select these options, but will get nothing.

Fix - you can flash the cluster using a 2010 VIN which will get rid of the steering feel option, but the ambient lighting will still be there but be useless. The only way to select steering feel modes is to convert the car to electric steering. Possible, but pricey and who knows what needs to be changed in the car. Lexiion is looking into doing this for his 2010. Ambient lighting is controlled by a separate module in the center console for 07-09 cars. No idea if it can be changed to work from the cluster.

18) Sport Select Shift available on the cluster for automatics, but 05-09 automatic cars don't have this.

Result - When you put the automatic car into 1, the cluster will recognize a manual shift and say "Sport Shift Selected". When put into 2, 2 is displayed on the cluster. When put into 3, 3 is selected on the cluster.

Fix - either flash the cluster to that of a manual and that may get rid of the message, or just leave it.


The Black Box will be wired to the HScan wires. It will also have to have some way of plugging some wires that normally go to the cluster go to it instead. Wires 13, 20, 21, 23, 24 will all need to plug into the black box.

Last edited by jim010; 11/19/14 at 02:54 PM.
Old 11/19/14, 06:51 AM
  #151  
Mach 1 Member
 
zeroaviation's Avatar
 
Join Date: March 1, 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 669
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Thanks for putting that together Jim!

I will start tackling those one at time, once I get some hardware decently together.

Cheers,
-Matt
Old 11/19/14, 12:41 PM
  #152  
Legacy TMS Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,790
Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts
I added 17 and 18 to the list.
Old 11/19/14, 01:47 PM
  #153  
Mach 1 Member
 
LEXiiON's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 29, 2012
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 791
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 21 Posts
About #15:

I got TrackApps working, but there is a caveat:

You need electric power steering and the service advancetrack is not going away.

LEXiiON
Old 11/19/14, 02:00 PM
  #154  
Legacy TMS Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,790
Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts
So I would just flash the cluster.

The LCD cluster I bought recently came from a 2013 V6 car, but there were no track apps on it. I will post the VIN on here once we have this all figured out so people can flash their clusters to not have the track apps. Better than having it show up but not be usable.

Lexiion,

I recall that you said if flashing the cluster using a 2010 VIN that track apps disappears and so does the extra guages, as well as the steering feel selection, is that so?
Old 11/19/14, 02:37 PM
  #155  
Legacy TMS Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,790
Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts
Originally Posted by LEXiiON
Download the 2010 as build. No steering wheel menu, no gauges, no TrackApps. The only thing that shows when selecting gauges is the pony ...the second screen with the details is gone.
The problem with the 2011 as build is the oil change message. That will only disappear with the 2010 as build

LEXiiON
Mevermind, I found your post.

I think this is the way to go. Flash using a 2010 VIN to get rid of everything that doesn't work.

The only thing left that will not work is the ambient lighting.
Old 12/3/14, 12:35 PM
  #156  
Legacy TMS Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,790
Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts
Here is an update:

Working on the electronics side of it still. Trying to figure out how to make this work with just 2 can channels... I'm starting to fear we may need 3, so 2 native can and one SPI-> CAN.
Old 12/22/14, 05:45 PM
  #157  
Mach 1 Member
 
zeroaviation's Avatar
 
Join Date: March 1, 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 669
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Parts are finally here from China! Only took 3 weeks. I was waiting on CAN transceivers that are already on PCB's so I had extras that were not breadboarded.

I can now continue on on translating... More to come after the holidays!

-Matt
Attached Thumbnails retrofit a 2013/14 cluster-img_20141222_184034.jpg  
Old 12/22/14, 06:38 PM
  #158  
Legacy TMS Member
Thread Starter
 
jim010's Avatar
 
Join Date: November 7, 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 2,790
Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts
Old 12/30/14, 11:15 PM
  #159  
V6 Member
 
Trevor08gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: July 21, 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 86
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can't wait!
Old 1/6/15, 01:50 PM
  #160  
Mach 1 Member
 
zeroaviation's Avatar
 
Join Date: March 1, 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 669
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Another update....

Finally got some better tools for CAN BUS work, much better than the ones I built myself.

So what does that mean for this project? I can now focus on the actual work rather than building the tools to do the work.

In short, we are aiming to have a initial release of the Black Box that will support this conversion somewhere in Q2 2015.

Don't want you guys to think this has been forgotten

Cheers,
-Matt

Last edited by zeroaviation; 1/6/15 at 01:52 PM.


Quick Reply: retrofit a 2013/14 cluster



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:12 PM.