Notices
2012-2013 BOSS 302

Watts to think?

Search this Thread

Old 3/8/11, 06:55 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by SilverHorseRacing
Yes, we offer it as well as being able to get most of the "good" suspension products out there. Cost is 695.00 to your door anywhere in the U.S.

Here's a link:

http://www.silverhorseracing.com/car...ategory_id=256
Wow that looks heavy. How does the weight compare to the stock setup? I'm new to this live axle stuff. Are there any good videos on how this works / helps?
Thanks.
Old 3/8/11, 07:22 PM
Mach 1 Member

Check out this video on YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=43_mH...e_gdata_player

Dave
Old 3/8/11, 11:36 PM
Legacy Tms Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
There's also some good books on the topic, mostly older books like the one from Puhn, Smith, and others which cover the fundamentals, as all the relevant tech has not changed. Suspension designs have not changed drastically in quite some time, the watts-link being around for at least 50 years that I am aware of at this point.

Weight... It's physically heavier than the PHB setup by about 15-20 pounds at most if I had to guess. But... the majority of the weight is static mass, not sprung, and the better control of rear roll center and geometry it creates is worth the weight. Also, the stock PHB is filled with shot, so it's not as light as the comparable links used on the watts, and the watts cradle is hollow square-tube, which isn't heavy.