2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}

I was refused an oil change!

Search this Thread

Old 8/10/12, 06:46 PM
Shelby GT500 Member

Received 53 Likes on 52 Posts
Those other two automakers went out of business because of the labor unions choking them to death. Ford has had its share of down years as well, as have every auto maker. Some of them have survived despite that.

I said what I did because the post I responded to is, according to the people at ford, passing misinformation as fact or as the right way to do things. Ther is no more authoritative source for information about something than the author/designer of that something. The designers have said that doing as the poster I responded to suggests is nonsense.

Yes, I am an engineer, and it's precisely why I stated what I did: i know, despite my ability to understand the design of the engine, I'm not qualified to make comments or suggestions that run counter to those suggestions given by the designers. I don't know enough to suggest they are wrong without sufficient evidence to support my claims. Mustangs have had no issues because of poorly timed oil changes; therefore, claiming that doing things your way is better, is baseless and not provable.

My perspective is just fine. They're not anymore perfect than you or I. But they do have more knowledge, experience, expertise and time spent on designing, creating, testing and building the equipment. That is undeniable. It's not a matter of having faith in the engineers: it's a matter of there not being a source of information that is more thorough, exhaustive and comprehensive than the people who built the cars. I will choose the more educated opinion over the opinion of anyone else. To do otherwise is absurd.

Last edited by kcoTiger; 8/10/12 at 06:54 PM.
Old 8/10/12, 06:57 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
People are way overthinking an oil

change. Probably losing sleep over it also.

Last edited by yugoboss; 8/10/12 at 10:29 PM.