2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}

Does the stock alarm/anti-theft enough?

Search this Thread

Old 5/2/10 | 07:37 AM
FR500 Member

Originally Posted by John H
To get things back on track a tad for the O.P.:

While I have no experience with the alarm on the 2010+ Mustangs, I can tell you we have the active system on our 2008 and it works well. A little too well, perhaps.

This past summer, I went to the Woodward Dream Cruise and parked at Mustang Alley. I left the windows down, but locked the doors because I wanted the alarm activated since I had some camera equipment in the trunk. My dad and I walked around for an hour or two and came back to the car to get some drinks out of the cooler. Upon opening my trunk, a guy approached me (in a very polite way) and said the alarm kept going off like crazy whenever people were walking along the sides of my car to look inside. I felt terrible that people had to put up with that so I just left the car unlocked when we went back out walking around. Seemed like some good people in the areas around my car so I felt comfortable enough that nobody would mess with anything.

My point? If the current factory alarm works at least as well as mine, it will work well. If Ford somehow tweaked the sensitivity of the motion sensors, it will work even better!
When I park my car with the top down, it's not possible to arm the in-car alarm for the same (obvious) reason. However, merely locking the doors with the key fob still activates the alarm, minus the motion sensors. If someone tries to open a door or the trunk, the alarm goes off. It's not full protection, but it is a nice compromise.
Old 5/2/10 | 07:48 AM
Cobra R Member

Originally Posted by John H
....If the current factory alarm works at least as well as mine, it will work well. If Ford somehow tweaked the sensitivity of the motion sensors, it will work even better!