Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

1st oil change question,Mobil 1 ?

Search this Thread

Old 12/16/13, 01:14 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by Mrsuitcase
Just a warning story with "free" dealership oil changes (thankfully this involves a Nissan dealership):

My brother in law received 2 years of free oil changes for his Nissan rogue. He puts a lot of mileage on the vehicle, and they ended up doing 8 changes for him (every 3 months).

On his first change afterwards, he went to an express-lube type place. They showed him the dipstick covered in sludge and told him they didn't think the oil had actually ever been changed (his mileage was now 80,000 km).

They also showed him the sludge in the pan that came out of the engine. My brother-in-law was quite embarassed, since he used to be a mechanic. But lesson learned - double check and make sure they are actually doing your "free" oil changes.
That's pretty sh***y! I was a lube tech at a gm dealership for awhile and we always did the free ones and those were the only ones we were told not to recommend stuff that needed fixed or changed. I don't care for stealerships in general after working for one for 7 months
Old 12/18/13, 11:26 AM
Temporary Vacation

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My oil was slightly dark,they changed it,the new oil was nearly clear on the dipstick.
Old 12/18/13, 11:29 AM
Temporary Vacation

" Conoco-Phillips makes Motorcraft oil. They also make Kendall motor oil, as well as their gas station brands.
Look at the bottles "

Wow... Excelent post. I think I would have to agree. Thank you much !

Last edited by Victory-rc; 12/18/13 at 11:31 AM.
Old 12/18/13, 01:29 PM
Cobra Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Moustang
Sorry, but bull.

Use the oil until it says "Replace oil immediately". Then reset the meter and drive it. Notice, the "monitor" has no idea that the old oil is still in the engine.