Car Care Shine Up Your Stang for Show Season, Fix a Dent, And General Car Cleaning

The 'ask any detailing question' thread

Search this Thread

Old 6/23/14 | 05:45 PM
Mach 1 Member

I always use armor all wax and wash with carnauba wax, (the orange stuff)that tends to relieve very light scratches, but my car is metallic silver and probably hides it better, try it.
Old 6/23/14 | 06:23 PM
Tms Mustang Member ------ The Customizer!

Originally Posted by typesredline
I would wash, then use something like dr color chip for the deep scratches. Once those are cured, I would wash again, clay, level (compound) to get the minor scratches out, polish, seal, the wax.
Thanks for the reply and for the steps to take. I just wasn't sure if I were to fix and clay first. But to wash again after fixing the scratches, I never thought about.
I got some paint from an online auto store, came with the compound, polish, base coat, primer.
This is my first time Im going to detail my car, so I am a little excited and nervous. I never fixed scratches before, so sanding the car is a little scary.
Looking forward to it.
Old 6/23/14 | 07:18 PM
Cobra Member

I will answer within each question

1.) Which line is typically the more highly regarded in terms of quality (and ease of use, when applicable), Griot's or Adam's?

I like both and use pieces from each. For example, GG's DA is awesome. They make other good products that I use regularly, like their mf pad and towel cleaner and some that I would only use in a pinch vs Adams since advanced auto carries them and Adams is online only. But I mostly use Adams. Lots of people talk about the brands found on Autogeek.com. And it's good stuff. But IMO, Adams quality is superior to all of them. It's just I little hidden in the detailing market, so most people on here don't have exp with them. Mags is by far the best "over the counter" stuff in brick and mortar stores (except for Griots at AA).