Tire pressure sensor fault - The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums

Notices
2010-2014 Mustang News on the Previous Generation Mustang

Tire pressure sensor fault

Old 10/3/18, 06:46 AM
  #1  
Bullitt Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: February 24, 2011
Location: MD
Posts: 355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Tire pressure sensor fault

I was driving in the highway today when my tire pressure sensor fault message came up. First time I have seen this. It went away after 2 or 3 seconds. Should I be worried? When i got to work, i looked around and my tires all look good.
dohc97 is offline  
Old 10/3/18, 07:44 AM
  #2  
Shelby GT350 Member
 
SpectreH's Avatar
 
Join Date: February 5, 2015
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 2,296
Thanked 247 Times in 222 Posts
Check your actual pressures, especially if you haven't in a while.
SpectreH is offline  
Old 10/3/18, 09:40 AM
  #3  
Cobra R Member
 
Bert's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 25, 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,691
Thanked 101 Times in 94 Posts
my first guess would be that probably means the battery is going dead in one of the sensors . . . which is going to be kind of a pain because you are going to have to figure out which one it is, and they replace the battery or the entire sensor if it keeps happening (not sure if the batteries are replaceable or if you have to replace the whole sensor)

the warning for low tire pressure is different, something like "low tire pressure"
Bert is offline  
Old 10/3/18, 03:22 PM
  #4  
Shelby GT500 Member
 
5.M0NSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: August 2, 2013
Location: Mothereffen Detroit
Posts: 2,924
Thanked 225 Times in 206 Posts
Was it low pressure or actual tire pressure monitoring system fault? This happens when one of the sensors hasn't transmitted a signal over the last 20 miles. It takes a long time to detect. Bert may be right about a battery going low. They are supposed to have a 10 year lifespan, but who knows. How many miles on the car?
5.M0NSTER is offline  
Old 10/3/18, 08:35 PM
  #5  
Bullitt Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: February 24, 2011
Location: MD
Posts: 355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by 5.M0NSTER View Post
Was it low pressure or actual tire pressure monitoring system fault? This happens when one of the sensors hasn't transmitted a signal over the last 20 miles. It takes a long time to detect. Bert may be right about a battery going low. They are supposed to have a 10 year lifespan, but who knows. How many miles on the car?
I have a 2014 GT and it currently has less than 15k miles in it. I also have aftermarket wheels(HRE) on the car maybe for the last 3 years. New sensors were installed with the new wheels.
dohc97 is offline  
Old 10/5/18, 03:18 PM
  #6  
GT Member
 
VIP1's Avatar
 
Join Date: June 11, 2014
Location: Eastern, MA
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Check the pressure on all 4 ties with a good gauge.
Visual inspection not enough.
VIP1 is offline  
Old 10/8/18, 04:33 AM
  #7  
Cobra R Member
 
Bert's Avatar
 
Join Date: January 25, 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,691
Thanked 101 Times in 94 Posts
Originally Posted by 5.M0NSTER View Post
Was it low pressure or actual tire pressure monitoring system fault? . . .
original post said "tire pressure sensor fault" ; I would assume he already checked the pressures but that is not entirely clear from his posts here

the aftermarket sensors are a lot cheaper than the Ford OEM ones; might be a bad battery or bad sensor

Last edited by Bert; 10/8/18 at 04:35 AM.
Bert is offline  
Old 12/29/18, 05:01 PM
  #8  
Bullitt Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: February 24, 2011
Location: MD
Posts: 355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Bert View Post
original post said "tire pressure sensor fault" ; I would assume he already checked the pressures but that is not entirely clear from his posts here

the aftermarket sensors are a lot cheaper than the Ford OEM ones; might be a bad battery or bad sensor
I bought the sensors from American Muscle when I had the HRE wheels put on. Not sue if they are aftermarket or OEM. I check the tire pressure before driving the car as it is not my daily driver. Also, the battery is always plugin to the wall via a battery maintainer, again just because i don't daily drive the car.

I think I just have bad tire sensors. I am going to get new tires anyways in two years. I will just get new sensors at that time.
dohc97 is offline  
Old 12/30/18, 07:03 PM
  #9  
Shelby GT500 Member
 
5.M0NSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: August 2, 2013
Location: Mothereffen Detroit
Posts: 2,924
Thanked 225 Times in 206 Posts
Originally Posted by dohc97 View Post
I bought the sensors from American Muscle when I had the HRE wheels put on. Not sue if they are aftermarket or OEM. I check the tire pressure before driving the car as it is not my daily driver. Also, the battery is always plugin to the wall via a battery maintainer, again just because i don't daily drive the car.

I think I just have bad tire sensors. I am going to get new tires anyways in two years. I will just get new sensors at that time.
Not a bad plan, as long as you’re willing to tolerate the message and blinking light.

The battery i was referring to is actually in the tire pressure sensor itself. Changing the sensors will likely fix it, or you can also force a re-learn. If one of the 4 sensors has a dead battery you’ll find out which one this way.
5.M0NSTER is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
CR_Stang
2010-2014 Mustang
18
10/25/13 02:31 PM
Gt500Vista
General Mustang Chat
3
10/5/12 07:17 PM
CalStang'07
2007-2009 Mustang GT/CS
11
11/29/11 05:12 PM
touring
05-09 Exterior Modifications
1
11/18/07 09:20 AM
twokidsnosleep
GT Performance Mods
3
12/14/06 01:19 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Tire pressure sensor fault


Featured Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.