2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}

Rim/tire size input needed, please

Search this Thread

Old 11/23/13, 02:28 PM
I Have No Life

Received 172 Likes on 145 Posts
Rim/tire size input needed, please

This winter I plan on ordering a new set of rims/tires to support my quest for added "grip". My Maggie blower install has left me longing for traction.

Thus, I had a few questions for you. I am no expert on widths and offsets. I would like to know what sizes I should get???

Here's my MIRs (most important requirements):

1) at least 285 or 295 wide

2) either 19s or 20s

3) am on the fence regarding staggered or square setup. Staggered, better handling, looks good. Square, ability to rotate.

4) rears must be flush to fenders... No hickish looking protrusions. Here's where the "offsets" come into play. I'm not quite familiar with the numbers for those.

5) must not have any rubbing issues at all

Lastly, I am lowered on Ford K springs, so I'm sure it makes a difference with the size and offset.

Can you experts out there please advise? Establishing the correct size is the first step. Once I have that established, I will make another thread on what KIND (style/brand) of rims to get.

Thanks in advance, fellow pony lovers.

Last edited by FromZto5; 11/23/13 at 03:15 PM.
Old 11/23/13, 03:04 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 545 Likes on 425 Posts
Was just looking up tire sizes earlier today for the girlfriend's Shelby and possibly my car for next year

Ended up thinking that we'll most likely do 265/35/20 fronts with 305/30/20 rears, if going with 20's

Haven't researched 19's that much ...
Old 11/23/13, 03:14 PM
I Have No Life

Originally Posted by Gabe
Was just looking up tire sizes earlier today for the girlfriend's Shelby and possibly my car for next year Ended up thinking that we'll most likely do 265/35/20 fronts with 305/30/20 rears, if going with 20's Haven't researched 19's that much ...