Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

2013 Ordered/Built/Delivered Thread

Search this Thread

Old 5/2/12, 09:24 AM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by ixamnis
Hello, everyone. I'm new to the world of Mustangs and, of course, new to this forum. I placed an order for my first Mustang last Thursday, April 26. I ordered a V6 Premium Convertible with the "Mustang Club of America Edition" Package (Group 203A), Automatic Trans in Candy Red. I say that realizing that quite a few folks on here seem to no think that highly of either the V6 or the Automatic Transmission options.

Before ordering, I test drove both the Mustang and the Camaro, both with V6, both with the automatic. I had read and heard about the dollars and effort that GM put into making the Camaro "better" than the Mustang, knowing that would be their primary competition. The Camaro has more horsepower, but more weight, four-wheel independent suspension, etc. When I took the Camaro for a test drive, I expected to be "blown away" by it. I just wasn't. The car felt "heavy". The throttle wasn't as responsive as I expected, the seat wasn't comfortable, the dash layout wasn't easy to use, the arm rests were too low. I did like the "heads-up" display for the speedometer; that was cool. I also like the exterior styling, though not necessarily better than the Mustang's.

A few days later I test drove the Mustang. The 'Stang fit like a glove. The seat, the armrests, the dash layout, the steering wheel - everything felt like it was made for me. In addition, the throttle seemed much more responsive, especially off the line and at lower speeds than the Camaro. I will say that both cars seemed very quiet for convertibles. (I currently own an '02 Chrysler Sebring Convert. and it is NOISY.)