05-09 Interior and Audio Mods Enhancing Your Mustang's Interior and Sound System

Painting window switch plates

Search this Thread

Old 5/28/06, 08:49 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Painting window switch plates

Before this site was renovated, there was a thread on painting switch plates from which I was inspired. I am no artist but I wanted to give this a try and extend the idea. I got spare switch plates from my local Ford dealer and some spray paint (Krylon for plastics). What to paint - Driver side: a little tribute to one of my favorite bands, INXS (saw their show recently, and their latest album, "Switch", is great from beginning to end - and having a tribute on a "switch" plate was fitting). Passenger side: I love the tri-bar and the pony.

Here are some pics installed. I still have the original switch plates (they are a little pricy considering to get the plate, I had to order the whole assembly, that is the plate, the actual switch and the piece below the switch plate).

I had fun, learned from it, and the results, in my opinion, didn't come out terrible. It provides for some uniqueness and a sense of accomplishment.
Attached Images     
Old 5/29/06, 04:21 AM
Mach 1 Member

Now that's unique!!! Very nice job, where do I order a set
Old 5/29/06, 07:05 AM
Bullitt Member

I saw the same thread.

I have down the switch plates with a silver that matches the vent deflectors, strictly by luck.

I used Dupli-Color w/a clear over the silver and then used a 1000 grit to knock some shine off and smooth them down.

Now all that stick on stuff is coming off and those parts will be painted.

When comparing the painted to the stick on I wonder why I didn't think about it before.

I had done this on my truck before bedause there wasn't any add on stuff.
Old 5/29/06, 08:32 AM
Mach 1 Member

I like the passenger side. Nice Job.
Old 5/29/06, 09:07 AM