Off-Topic Chatter Non-Vehicle Related Chat

"Major" problem

Search this Thread

Old 1/6/08, 08:16 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
"Major" problem

I am currently a sophomore at the University of Connecticut, majoring in Pathobiology and Veterinary Science. I chose this major because I have always had a love for animals and biological science and wanted to combine the two in a clinical field and thought veterinary science would be the perfect profession. But a year and a half in college has changed my mind. Getting into veterinary school is a little more challenging than I previously thought (Usually requiring a 3.7 gpa or above to be realistically considered). My GPA is respectable, but not that high. A fallback option would be pre-med, but I am not so enthusiastic about that option either.
I have always loved cars and being around cars (as I am sure most of you do as well). I worked at my uncle’s car dealership last summer and absolutely loved it. I told myself I would have worked their for free. I always love reading about cars, and knowing as much as possible about them. When I compare that interest to a subject such as biology or medicine, the attraction just isn’t there. I was thinking about changing my major to something along the lines of business or marketing, then perhaps apply for a job with an automaker. I don’t know how realistic that is though.
Does anyone have any advice on this subject? I realize that life is all about figuring these kinds of things out for yourself, but I was thinking I could get some guidance from some people that may have gone through the same thing.

Thanks guys.
-Jason
Old 1/6/08, 08:26 PM
Mach 1 Member