2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}

2/14/05 AUTOWEEK & SVT

Search this Thread

Old 2/10/05, 08:42 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
AWD and turboed four-bangers? Call me snobbish, but that ain't to my taste, and SVT just would not be the same if they ventured into import territory. I've got nothing against high-performance Foci and the like, but I was glad when they dropped it. SVT means MUSCLE
Old 2/10/05, 08:52 PM
Mach 1 Member

Originally posted by Soccer2789@February 10, 2005, 8:19 PM
Ughhhh, no IRS. Talk about dropping the ball....

It still amazes me how many people are ignorant about IRS Vs live axle. This has been beaten to death.

Front engine rear drive cars work quite well without IRS. SCCA Trans-Am cars are all solid axle. NASCAR works pretty good on road courses. I have many years racing experience at Lime Rock Park in CT which is one of the roughest tracks in North America. A good solid axle setup works great here.

I hope SVT offers a 9" rear so we can put some real power in the new Cobra. 600HP+
Old 2/10/05, 09:02 PM
Shelby GT500 Member

Originally posted by PONY XPRESS+February 10, 2005, 10:55 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(PONY XPRESS @ February 10, 2005, 10:55 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-Soccer2789@February 10, 2005, 8:19 PM

It still amazes me how many people are ignorant about IRS Vs live axle. This has been beaten to death.

Front engine rear drive cars work quite well without IRS. SCCA Trans-Am cars are all solid axle. NASCAR works pretty good on road courses. I have many years racing experience at Lime Rock Park in CT which is one of the roughest tracks in North America. A good solid axle setup works great here.

I hope SVT offers a 9" rear so we can put some real power in the new Cobra. 600HP+
[/b][/quote]