Notices
Suspension, Brakes, and Tire Tech Place to discuss suspension mods for all models

Jittery behavior- any way to address this?

Search this Thread

Old 8/19/15, 07:49 AM
Shelby GT350 Member

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

I have been driving this car pretty hard for the past 5 years and I'm familiar with its behavior in most conditions.

I have ~3000 on my Bilstein/Eibach Pro/285 RE-11s. At low/moderate speeds and sharp corners, the thing is vastly improved. Dive/squat are way better controlled and in general, the car is more composed.

On Saturday, I ended up following a fairly new ('12-'13?) BMW 1M through one of the local country roads at a "brisk pace." It was fun and while I had NO problem keeping up with him, I noticed that the car was quite nevous feeling when under a cornering load on some of the higher speed sweepers....possibly due to some imperfections in the pavement, though these roads appeared to be in good shape.

Looking back, I think this was the first time I had put the new suspension to the test in those conditions...and sadly, it matches up with the stereotypical criticisms of the S197/SRA...I never lost control of the car but it actually spooked me a bit.

Is there any suggested mod path to minimize this?

Lighter wheels?
Watt's link?
Softer springs?
Slow down?

Suggestions are welcome.
Old 8/19/15, 08:00 AM
Shelby GT350 Member

Oh... forgot to mention, the wheels are 19x9.5 RTR wheels with the -33 offset...not sure is the weight or offset of these wheels might be a contributing factor.

I'm also running about -1.5* camber in the front.
Old 8/19/15, 09:14 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 166 Likes on 141 Posts

Sounds about normal for these cars. I get the same, had it with my Steeda springs and have it with my H&Rs now.