2012-2013 BOSS 302

Need assistance/recommendations on upgrading Boss for 1/4

Search this Thread

Old 9/17/11, 02:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need assistance/recommendations on upgrading Boss for 1/4

Hi all I'm new to this hobby. I have a Boss. The only thing I have done to it is taken out the discs. I've been taking it to the track and doing 1/4 mile runs. My most recent time was a 12.6. (not bad for a newbie ;-)) I want to make some mods but also want to be careful in not messing up my car. Here is list of what I thought I'd do ( please remember I'm new so some of this might be kind of retarded) I'm looking for recommendations etc...

Carbon fiber hood ( is it worth it for weight reduction and how much would it reduce?)

Carbon fiber rims ( can you even get those for a Car, if so how much will it reduce?)

Underpully -- not sure if anyone has any recommendations here or if you can even safely make that mod to the Boss. ( e. .g reduce the size of the gear to make more HP sacrificing AC and alt right? )

CAI what's the best brand and what are the gains before the tune ( I'm not sure here about getting a tune as like everyone else -- waiting on track key. How would track key affect CAI etc...?)

I'm looking for cost, recommendations, gotcha's etc.. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you. 302-774KB
Old 9/17/11, 06:10 PM

Best thing you can do is get some sticky tires. I borrowed some Mickey Thompson drag radials from a friend they worked great. Ended up with a 11.79@116 out of it. Tires were on a 17" wheel and were 28" tall. This also helped keep the car coming close to the rev limiter in 4th at the end of the 1/4.

Also with tires you will need upper and lower control arms to keep wheel hop in check when you launch it at 5,000 rpms. I am running BMR upper and lower and they have worked well. Also to consider is a one piece aluminum drive shaft it drops some rotational weight and is stronger. I am running one from the driveshaft shop.