Notices
Repair and Service Help All Repair related problems, issues, TSBs, and anything else revolving around the Repair of your Mustang

Yet Another MT-82 Down for the Count

Search this Thread

Old 5/6/12, 02:14 AM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Flagstang
I love how "Gear Whine" and "Notchy" = "down" or busted.

this is still a muscle car and this tranny and shifter is far better than the one i "rowed" for the last three years. and i had a short shifter (600.00) installed on the car from day one.

i had to get used to this trans... when i left the dealer, i was in third gear.... and i've been driving manual transmission for almost 30 years -- so its easy to make a mistake -- when you ask for more precision -- be careful what you ask for.

still in all i think they may have a clearance problem with 2nd gear syncro -- under some situations it seems to lag, if i tap the shifter to engage 2nd and pause a bit - and then shift, it will slide right in. Or if quickly shift from 1st to second (around 1800-1900rpm) no problem.

During a decent power shift there's no complaint -- upgrading shifters may be my only option.. I loved the Saleen short shifter in my old Fox body car -- now that was noisy.. the detents would make a snick-snick sound. I miss it
Old 5/8/12, 10:12 AM
Bullitt Member

Originally Posted by Flagstang
I love how "Gear Whine" and "Notchy" = "down" or busted.
Actually, I didn't say that. I said I took it to the dealer for the gear whine, they diagnosed it as being abnormal, and then took the suitable course of action to fix the problem.

I wasn't using this as a platform to complain about the transmission. I was using this thread to inform the forum users of a problem I experienced so that if they ever experience something similar they can get it taken care of.

P.s. - I have the car back, with the new transmission in it, and it drives beautifully; like the day I bought the car.
Old 5/8/12, 12:36 PM
Shelby GT350 Member