Notices
Repair and Service Help All Repair related problems, issues, TSBs, and anything else revolving around the Repair of your Mustang

5.0 Oil consumption

Search this Thread

Old 7/10/13, 07:35 AM
NOT CURRENTLY ACTIVE ON THIS SITE! DO NOT USE PM FEATURE!

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
Originally Posted by denlem
Nothing since that visit. I don't go back until it's down a quart.

Deysha "escalated" this for me but all that does is give me a customer service rep. that asks me if i'm satisfied with what the dealer did and when the planned end date was. With doing this three times and that being 6K miles based on current usage and 400 miles a week, it'll take a while.

All the dealer did was do what Ford told them to do which is what i've been doing for the past 9 months.
I know this process can be lengthy, denlem. Please continue to work with your dealer and PM me if you need me.

Deysha
Old 7/13/13, 04:48 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by MyStang2010GB
When I had my beautiful 2012 yellow Blaze Boss 302 it used oil to the tune of about a quart every 1000 miles. It stayed on that track monitored by the dealer right up until I traded it at 8900 miles... for the oil consumption problem. Most of my driving in the car was some light to moderate stop and go traffic. In the end what the mechanics at the dealer told me several mustangs later was that the motor never got driven at temperature long enough to properly seat the rings. I drove it on weekends, to some car shows and such.
Very early in my automobile-owning career I had a nice little car (1953 MGTD; some of you might have to look it up) and not enough money to drive it much, let alone modify it. I made certain my family knew to give me car-magazine subscriptions before any other gifts. So I read enough and found enough answers to be considered something of an expert among fellow Airmen at Little Rock AFB (1957-1959).