Add OEM heated seats? - The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums

Notices
'10-14 Interior and Audio Place to discuss 2010-2014 interior and audio type modifications.

Add OEM heated seats?

Old 1/11/16, 10:04 AM
  #1  
Bullitt Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: March 11, 2013
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Add OEM heated seat switches?

I'm actually more so curious as to how i can find a way to use the factory heated seat switch to activate as a power source/trigger for the relay on each seat.

I have manual seats though i forgot to mention that.

I had a radio bezel that had the heated seat buttons, when I plugged it in and hit the button for heated seat it would light up. So would that mean the car is wired for heated seats? If so i'd just take the power wire that would be active while the heated seat button is active and have that feed into the relay to trigger the aftermarket heated seat to power.

With my scoche double din setup, it has the ability to allow heated seats (if you're vehicle is equipped with them) so if I could make it a real option that would be sweet!

I was thinking maybe I'd have to change out the HVAC module (the little black box here)



for one from a car with heated seats and single climate control. I also then wonder what kind of extra wiring harness or replacement i'd need if anything at all or if the 2013 seat plugs are already wired for it as well as any programming to the HVAC system using a VCMII or not.

Any ideas?

I do have aftermarket heated seating that I've installed to my manual seats, I'm simply just trying to find a way to allow the factory buttons to activate a relay.

Last edited by DeeJayTJ; 1/11/16 at 10:46 AM.
DeeJayTJ is offline  
Old 1/11/16, 03:13 PM
  #2  
Bullitt Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: March 11, 2013
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
I'm thinking i need to start with this "CR3Z19980D" my current HVAC Control is "CR33-19980-AB" although the one ending with AB thats on my car, does allow the heated seat buttons to light up if i remember correctly... maybe they dont i dont know! my car is in the **** shop i cant check lol.


DeeJayTJ is offline  
Old 1/15/16, 10:34 AM
  #3  
Mach 1 Member
 
LEXiiON's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 29, 2012
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
Originally Posted by DeeJayTJ View Post
I'm actually more so curious as to how i can find a way to use the factory heated seat switch to activate as a power source/trigger for the relay on each seat.

I have manual seats though i forgot to mention that.

I had a radio bezel that had the heated seat buttons, when I plugged it in and hit the button for heated seat it would light up. So would that mean the car is wired for heated seats? If so i'd just take the power wire that would be active while the heated seat button is active and have that feed into the relay to trigger the aftermarket heated seat to power.

With my scoche double din setup, it has the ability to allow heated seats (if you're vehicle is equipped with them) so if I could make it a real option that would be sweet!

I was thinking maybe I'd have to change out the HVAC module (the little black box here)



for one from a car with heated seats and single climate control. I also then wonder what kind of extra wiring harness or replacement i'd need if anything at all or if the 2013 seat plugs are already wired for it as well as any programming to the HVAC system using a VCMII or not.

Any ideas?

I do have aftermarket heated seating that I've installed to my manual seats, I'm simply just trying to find a way to allow the factory buttons to activate a relay.
You can't program the HVAC module with the VCMII. You need to buy one with heated seats.
Here is the diagram for wiring the HVAC module to your relays.
The buttons work through CAn bus to the HVAC module.

LEXiiON
Attached Thumbnails Add OEM heated seats?-seat_1.jpg   Add OEM heated seats?-seat_2.jpg  
LEXiiON is offline  
Old 1/18/16, 06:03 PM
  #4  
Bullitt Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: March 11, 2013
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
thank you very much! do you by anychance have a pinout diagram? I dont know if my dash's wire harness would even have the wires on the harness
DeeJayTJ is offline  
Old 1/18/16, 06:34 PM
  #5  
Mach 1 Member
 
LEXiiON's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 29, 2012
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
Originally Posted by DeeJayTJ View Post
thank you very much! do you by anychance have a pinout diagram? I dont know if my dash's wire harness would even have the wires on the harness
Here we go
LEXiiON
Attached Thumbnails Add OEM heated seats?-image.jpeg  
LEXiiON is offline  
Old 1/19/16, 08:15 AM
  #6  
Bullitt Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: March 11, 2013
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Originally Posted by LEXiiON View Post
Here we go
LEXiiON

Thank you very much!!! I'll be sure to update once the new HVAC Control comes in!
DeeJayTJ is offline  
Old 10/27/16, 01:56 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: October 25, 2016
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How did it end up working out for you?
Texas Coyote is offline  
Old 11/7/16, 03:36 PM
  #8  
GT Member
 
cjjiii's Avatar
 
Join Date: October 3, 2009
Location: PA Bucks County
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Texas Coyote View Post
How did it end up working out for you?
I'm curious too.
I installed 2013 Powered/ Heated seats into my 2010. I switched out the Air Bag system from the 2010 into the 2013 seats. Airbag light is off.

To get power (my oem plug did not have) I spliced from +12V to the pins on the bottom of the seats. My power seats now work.

My problem now is getting the heated seats to work. I have done everything -Radio/ HVAC buttons, both fuses (engine and kick panel), heated seat module. etc.

Now all I get, with the engine running, is the heated seat switch lights up, but no heat.

I have searched looking for the correct wiring harness, but no luck. (I actually would love to avoid doing this)

My question - can I run a wire from the back of the HVAC Module (pin 9,10) to the Heated Seat Relay (pin 2)? I could then tap +12V to pin 3
Am I looking at this correctly???
cjjiii is offline  
Old 11/17/16, 06:44 AM
  #9  
V6 Member
 
Join Date: July 12, 2015
Posts: 85
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I just tackled this last weekend. I bought aftermarket heated pads from amazon. I also did the nav upgrade with heated seat face plate and dash harness. I found the wires to tap into, but they are very small gauge. The wire from the aftermarket heaters was one gauge thicker. I didn't want to try it due to fear of fire.
GT227 is offline  
Old 11/19/16, 03:07 PM
  #10  
Mach 1 Member
 
Join Date: April 30, 2014
Posts: 935
Thanks: 0
Thanked 40 Times in 38 Posts
Originally Posted by GT227
I just tackled this last weekend. I bought aftermarket heated pads from amazon. I also did the nav upgrade with heated seat face plate and dash harness. I found the wires to tap into, but they are very small gauge. The wire from the aftermarket heaters was one gauge thicker. I didn't want to try it due to fear of fire.
Isn't this what relays are for?
berzerk_1980 is offline  
Old 2/8/17, 11:55 AM
  #11  
Member
 
cholmes1's Avatar
 
Join Date: July 31, 2015
Location: Castle Pines, CO
Posts: 39
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Any updates?
cholmes1 is offline  
Old 10/16/18, 03:26 PM
  #12  
Bullitt Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: March 11, 2013
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Originally Posted by cjjiii View Post
I'm curious too.
I installed 2013 Powered/ Heated seats into my 2010. I switched out the Air Bag system from the 2010 into the 2013 seats. Airbag light is off.

To get power (my oem plug did not have) I spliced from +12V to the pins on the bottom of the seats. My power seats now work.

My problem now is getting the heated seats to work. I have done everything -Radio/ HVAC buttons, both fuses (engine and kick panel), heated seat module. etc.

Now all I get, with the engine running, is the heated seat switch lights up, but no heat.

I have searched looking for the correct wiring harness, but no luck. (I actually would love to avoid doing this)

My question - can I run a wire from the back of the HVAC Module (pin 9,10) to the Heated Seat Relay (pin 2)? I could then tap +12V to pin 3
Am I looking at this correctly???
did you ever get this working?

The only update i have, is that the HVAC Module i bought - supposedly came from a car with heated seats, but no signal from pin 9 and 10 of the hvac using the oem heated seat buttons.
DeeJayTJ is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
MilesTeg
General Mustang Chat
2
1/1/16 11:41 PM
JaviCosta
Warranty and Service Issues
2
12/26/15 05:26 PM
JaviCosta
Ecoboost
14
12/22/15 11:52 AM
russgray32
'10-14 Exterior Modifications
18
12/19/15 11:45 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Add OEM heated seats?


Featured Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.