Repair and Service Help All Repair related problems, issues, TSBs, and anything else revolving around the Repair of your Mustang

Synchros in 3rd.

Search this Thread

Old 1/22/08, 04:08 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Synchros in 3rd.

I'm new to my mustang, just to make that clear. Every once in a while, when shifting into 3rd (never anything else), if I shift really quickly, I hear that aweful grind that makes the hair on my neck stand up.

So here's the question. While it is possible that I may not have the clutch in all the way, I've been driving manual cars for 15 years. So the likelihood is slim that I'm going to make that mistake always in the same gear. If I take my time with the 3rd shift, I never have this problem.

I understood that the 3rd issue with our cars is just in trying to make the shift without getting locked out. So is this a different issue? Pardon my ignorance if this is the same thing and I didn't understand.

How do I solve this? For what it's worth, I'm planning on getting an MGW shifter in the not to far future because I don't like the floaty feel and long throw of the stock shifter.

Thanks in advance for advice!
Old 1/24/08, 06:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I don't think its your fault with the clutch - I grind 3rd when the tranny is cold. Only way I noticed to not grind is to move the shifter u p/right/up, instead of just pushing it towards 3rd.
Old 1/24/08, 08:37 AM
V6 Member

Originally Posted by Mackitraz
I'm new to my mustang, just to make that clear. Every once in a while, when shifting into 3rd (never anything else), if I shift really quickly, I hear that aweful grind that makes the hair on my neck stand up.

So here's the question. While it is possible that I may not have the clutch in all the way, I've been driving manual cars for 15 years. So the likelihood is slim that I'm going to make that mistake always in the same gear. If I take my time with the 3rd shift, I never have this problem.