Repair and Service Help All Repair related problems, issues, TSBs, and anything else revolving around the Repair of your Mustang

Brake Fluid Leak Damage?

Search this Thread

Old 6/27/07, 10:01 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 32 Likes on 25 Posts
I agree, Ford should have a better design and issue a recall. But my car hasn't had any fluid on the outside of the resevoir since I did it. The brakes still work. Just a question and I'm not a mechanic, but why would the brakes fail by just putting an o-ring around the top of the resevoir on the outside so the cap seals against it stopping any fluid from getting out? And I do appreciate any info.
Old 6/30/07, 11:31 AM
whs
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Scarpi
why would the brakes fail by just putting an o-ring around the top of the resevoir on the outside so the cap seals against it stopping any fluid from getting out? And I do appreciate any info.
They shouldn't if it is just a faulty cap design, but if the leak is caused by excess pressure in the resevoir due to high temperatures causing the brake fluid to boil, you just sealed the system and haven't really fixed the problem. Instead you are just trapping the pressure in the system, then we have to ask ourselves what is the next weakest part in the system? If we are lucky it would just leak out past the seal, but in time it could weaken the plastic resevoir then again it might not. We really don't know for sure what the cause of the problem is and really should leave it to their engineers to fix. I'm not saying that we can't observe, but I would be hesitant modify anything on my own.
Old 6/30/07, 12:46 PM
Mach 1 Member