05-09 Interior and Audio Mods Enhancing Your Mustang's Interior and Sound System

confused about quality of stock speakers and aftermarket

Search this Thread

Old 11/3/06, 09:38 AM
V6 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
confused about quality of stock speakers and aftermarket

I thought I had car stereo figured out. I do not.....I have been competing in SPL competitions for the past 4 years and have done very well I mught say, but now that I have the mustang, I want to be able to hear the words to the songs I have been playing. I did not get the shaker just standard 4 speaker setup. first thing I did I installed my Alpine 9855 HU, factory sounded pretty good, couple of weeks went by and I installed set of Boston Acoustic's in the fron and in the back,,, same setting and everyting on HU does not sound as good as the stock stuff did..... I am thinking I may need to put an amp on the bostons but I just can't fathom the idea of the stock speakers sounding better than 700 dollars worth of quality built aftermarket speakers. either way what is your take on this situation?

thanks
Old 11/3/06, 07:05 PM

I'd check your speaker specs. Your alpine is only pushing 18W RMS, and I know my Boston SL80 components recommend 60W RMS. Usually the higher quality speakers won't sound as good as a mid/entry level speaker if you aren't giving them the power they were designed for. You might also check your wire phasing to make sure some of your speakers aren't wired backwards from the others.
Old 11/3/06, 07:58 PM
Team Mustang Source

Higher quality speakers need more amps they are designed that way. Not sure why if I guess it would be more durable better damped componets.
Old 11/4/06, 10:54 AM