GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Ways to improve throttle response?

Search this Thread

Old 12/3/04, 11:02 AM
FR500 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow

I have an '05 Mustang GT with automatic transmission. If I really lay on the gas in third gear and above (sometimes even in second), the car will wait a second and then kick in. I know of ways to increase horsepower, but what are the best ways to increase throttle response. So that when I step on the gas, I go right away (or at least sooner). This car is a lot better than other autos I have driven. But, there has to be something I, and other auto drivers, can do. Will replacing the throttle body with a larger one help? Maybe a new gear ratio? I'm not too experienced with the engine and all it's componenents. So, anyone who is please help...
Old 12/3/04, 12:59 PM
Cobra Member

the 05 mustang throttle body is a drive by wire system like in the f-16s fly by wire system the throttle is completely electronic so it is better than previous mustangs you cant really get better than that

(thanks Stubbies )
Old 12/3/04, 01:17 PM
Bullitt Member

i thought it was the opposite since before it was a throttle cable it wasa instants whereas now the computer wont let you go wot ????
Old 12/3/04, 01:36 PM

I have notice zero throttle lag on my manual GT, I'd swing back by the dealer and have them check to see if either the throttle sensor or the TB actuator is set wrong or malfunctioning.
Old 12/3/04, 02:00 PM

I don't know too much about this, but becuase it is an electronic throttle (drive by wire), I am sure a computer flash would give you whatever throttle response you desire. This would enable you to set your shift points and whatever else is needed.
Old 12/3/04, 02:00 PM
Bullitt Member

I think he's maybe just talking about the time it takes to kick down to a lower gear when you stomp on the gas. It's an auto afterall....not that there's anything wrong with that.