GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Supercharger & Cams, is it worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 10/29/08, 05:32 AM
Team Mustang Source

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Supercharger & Cams, is it worth it?

Well as most of you know, I've been running the whipple supercharger on my car for 2 years now. best decision I ever made.

now comes yet another mod bug that I'm debating. CAMS! I've taken quite a few visits to Tillman Speed, some of his previous customers have showed up to his shop for friendly visits and the sound of the cams literally makes me want to cream myself. the cars sound sick. some have had blowers and some have been N/A.

my question to anyone, given the fact that I'm running a 10psi whipple supercharger @ 480RWHP, is it worth it to buy cams, like the FRPP Hot Rod cams I keep hearing about or the brenspeed or bamachips grind cams? will the s/c combination along with cams be too much for stock internals? whats the added benefits of adding the cams and the negative effects on a supercharged application?
Old 10/29/08, 05:37 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 29 Likes on 22 Posts
I'm running the Brenspeed twin-screw cams from Comp. We haven't fully tuned the car yet other than putting them in and running the base file, but I should have some dyno numbers on Saturday. FWIW the car seems to pull strong on the top end, the bottom feels the same.
Old 10/29/08, 12:20 PM

I am questioning what steps I should take next. The only thing I have changed is the axle-backs. However, I get back from deployment and will have a bit of extra cash to throw around. I have been told that the stock GT motor is not really strong enough to handle the supercharger. So it sways me to getting the long tubes, x-pipe, cams, CAI and tune first and leaving it. On the same note, I really want that power. Any advice?
Old 10/29/08, 01:54 PM
Team Mustang Source

Originally Posted by mizzou_guy21