2005-2009 Mustang Information on The S197 {Gen1}
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Attempt to fix Stepper Motor gone wrong?

Search this Thread

Old 1/23/14, 11:30 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Attempt to fix Stepper Motor gone wrong?

I attempted to put in a new stepper motor for my speedometer... desoldered the olde one and soldered in a new one. I went to check if it worked and I got nothing from the instrument panel... no lights (tach, speedometer, seat belt light, etc.). The alarm went on and the front/back/interior lights were all blinking and the alarm was going off...

My question is, could this be something simple, like maybe I didnt solder the new stepper motor good enough (so just apply more solder) or did I potentially screw something up big time.

I am not an expert at soldering by any means, but I feel that I was careful when I desoldered the old stepper motor and put in the new one.

Any input for what to look for?
Old 1/23/14, 11:39 PM

I was using a watt soldering iron and I was using 62/36/2 Silver-Bearing Solder from Radio Shack, if that helps
Old 1/24/14, 12:11 AM

OK scratch that... just checked the connection and found that the latch to release the gauge wiring to the main electrical was not secured all the way. Hopefully tomorrow when I give it a drive, the speedometer will be good to go! I did notice that the tach appeared to be way off when I just started it up though...
Old 1/24/14, 06:23 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 775 Likes on 566 Posts
I love when the OP fixes his problem before anyone can post a helpful solution. LOL I do hope you had the battery disconnected when you were working on this project?
Old 2/11/14, 10:22 PM

Everything worked out fine... So I decided to get into some other stuff... Hopefully didnt mess anything up too bad. Switched out LEDs which seemed to go fine cause they all light up fine, but also decided to add AAI-FRD-04 aux mod to the shaker 500.