Notices
Fox Mustangs 1979-1993 Mustangs Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

roadblock in my budget brake upgrade...?

Search this Thread

Old 4/27/07, 06:41 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
roadblock in my budget brake upgrade...?

Sitting in a pile in my living room next to the Snap-On toolbox I have a '93 Cobra master cylinder, the Maximum Motorsports conversion kit for the MC, Stop Tech stainless brake hoses also from MM, EBC Greenstuff pads and I'm ordering Powerslot dimpled and slotted rotors tonight.

The problem is with the 73mm Lincoln/SVO brake calipers that just came in from Brothers Performance. I asked the guy on the phone when I ordered them if they had a steel piston rather than phenolic, and he said yes. Well it turns out they are phenolic so I called them back to tell them about it and this other fellow checked the other calipers in stock and found out they're all phenolic and not steel, the other guy was mis-informed.

He told me I could send them back for store credit but said in his opinion he doesn't think there will be a difference in performance and phenolic should dissipate heat better. He made sure I knew that thats just his opinion and he wasn't sure, and I read elsewhere that phenolic is fine for street use and steel is really only needed for racing but I'm just not sure.
I see at Paul's website I can buy the steel upgrade for 70 bucks, which would make these calipers cost over 180 after shipping is done.... so what say everyone?
Old 4/27/07, 08:18 PM
Bullitt Member

I say that the phenolic will be fine for DD use, but i doubt they would be any good for any type of track use
Old 4/27/07, 08:27 PM
Mach 1 Member

I just dug up a 2 year old thread at stangnet about it, and a lot of guys there are using the phenolic and say they have no problems. I figure these will be ok until I get my Baer Track kit... in the distant future.
Old 4/27/07, 11:29 PM
FR500 Member