Notices
Fox Mustangs 1979-1993 Mustangs Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

In building a MPG champ, what engine/body combo is recommended?

Search this Thread

Old 6/24/06, 11:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I am no pro when it comes to these things, but I would go with a newer car. When driving distances like that you have to acount for more than the motor and gas milage; there is all the wear and tear on the running gear as well. I have a 89 fox and I would not choose it as the car to do what you intend to do. Unless you were going to replace and upgrade every single component before you start driving it those distances, I would go for a modern car - I think with a fox you will find your repaire bill climbing fast.
Old 6/24/06, 11:08 AM
Mach 1 Member

I wouldn't call a fox body unreliable, but the motor design was already decades old by the the time they put the fuelie version in the '86. Whereas the 4.6 SOHC has more of that technology stuff in it and is the new 3-valve mod motors even have varible cam timing. I would say your best bet is a 4.6.
Old 6/25/06, 10:56 PM
bob
Legacy TMS Member

Received 15 Likes on 10 Posts
Hmmmmmmm.......mileage???????????

Weight is a critcal factor with fuel mileage - the best for that would be a nice light coupe with a 5.0 motor. Follow that up with a nice efficent motor that pretty much idles at freeway speed and you could get some good mileage. A high perf engine and a high mpg engine aren't mutually exclusive. The only real difference is operating range.
Old 6/25/06, 11:09 PM
Dethroned Nascar Guru

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I would say go with a 96-98 4.6 SOHC with 2.87 rear end. It's more aerodynamic than the fox body and probably the 99-07s too. Before I added the supercharger I would get 19-20 city and 26-28 highway and I had the 3.27 gears, so a 2.87 should do better.
Old 6/26/06, 09:05 AM
I Have Admin Envy

Received 1 Like on 1 Post