Notices
Fox Mustangs 1979-1993 Mustangs Member Tech & Restoration Discussion

89 5.0 LX, short in the system...

Search this Thread

Old 5/8/08, 09:45 AM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
89 5.0 LX, short in the system...

About two months ago, I go to start the car after it sat for 3-4 days. Turn the key and it's just a series a clicks, that's it. Then I go to start it again the next day. Nothing Happens. So I take the battery in to have it checked. Only been about 7 months since I bought it new. They tell me there's a dead cell, so I get a replacement battery, no charge.

No problems for the last couple months. Car is driven almost every day since then. Maybe a day or two skipped now an then. (Hey, I've got a nice '06 Legend Lime coupe to drive too LOL.)

Fast forward to this past Monday. Same thing happens again. Car sat for 3-4 days. Turn the key, clicking. Try the next day, nothing. My dad thinks there's a short in the system somewhere.

I'm no mechanic, so I ask you experts here - What's up?

Thanks for your help.
Mike
Old 5/11/08, 05:52 PM
Cobra Member

sorry for the late reply, but it sounds like your starter is fried...
Old 5/12/08, 05:37 AM
Post *****

Received 72 Likes on 65 Posts
. . . have you changed the starter solenoid? Might be a good place to start and they are not expensive.
Old 5/12/08, 08:09 AM
GT Member

Update as of yesterday (Sunday 5/11) - So I take the battery in to have it checked, nothing wrong except it needs recharged. So they recharge it, I put it back in the car. Starts fine. I run the car back to the shop and they check the systems out. They say everything looks good.

Something must be slowly draining the battery down though. I'm guessing that eventually this scenario will happen again.

Two of you have said it's the starter/starter solenoid. This must be what is draining the battery. Maybe I should just replace the solenoid now as prevention.
Old 5/12/08, 10:32 AM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts