Tire and Wheel Tech All the tire and wheel technical information you can think of in one place!

Traction problems at the local strip

Search this Thread

Old 4/13/15, 03:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Traction problems at the local strip

Hi Folks, I'm very new to this, but just entered my 2005 Mustang GT in a local drag race last month. I got the car used & it already has some nice mod's (cold air intake, tuner, etc.). It currently has stock wheels with 245/45/17 Bridgestone Potenzas on it.

I had major problems gripping the road at the starting line. Part of the cause was racing on a regular parking lot surface (because someone had emptied his oil pan on the actual racetrack right before I raced). But I'm guessing my tires were the rest of the story.

I have my eye on the Nitto NT555R after reading this Web site & a few others. The question is--buy some wider wheels, or race on stock? I will only race occassionally & I usually go down there just to watch, but even for street driving I want something that will grip better. If you could send a couple replies either endorsing the stock wheels or recommending a *specific* wheel replacement to go with these tires, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks,
Mage

Last edited by mage; 4/13/15 at 03:20 PM.
Old 4/13/15, 06:06 PM
Cobra Member

Received 26 Likes on 25 Posts
If you are going to Drag you might want to get you a set of Drag Slicks mounted on a set of rim's for the track. Then practice with launching your car. Is it a Manual or Auto?

I have a new 2014 GT track and I have great times with the stock tires.

Once you get the bug to race I am sure you will be doing it more often.
Old 4/13/15, 09:48 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 667 Likes on 541 Posts
You need LCAs. Stock ones suck for drag racing. Maybe a UCA while you're at it. Launches will improve, no more wheel hop, etc.

For street/strip, I'd say the Cooper RS3-S, same size. They'll do well, and they're a great tire overall.