Notices
Suspension, Brakes, and Tire Tech Place to discuss suspension mods for all models

Noisy Front Suspension with Snow Tires on

Search this Thread

Old 12/6/11, 09:21 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 56 Likes on 46 Posts
Noisy Front Suspension with Snow Tires on

Hey guys - I've only had my snow tires on for a couple weeks and this is my first time with 'em, so bear with me if I should know this but...

With the snow tires on, the suspension really creaks a lot under moderate to hard braking pressure from maybe 15 MPH down to full stop. It sounds like it's coming from the front only, but I could be wrong. A couple other notes:
  • Tires/wheels are Bridgestone Blizzak LM-60 and Ford Racing '07 GT-500 look wheels, both the factory 18" size
  • Lugs were torqued to 100 lb/ft and have been checked repeatedly since installation
  • Tires are at 32 PSI
  • Temperature has ranged from 25-55 since I've installed them and the noise has happened throughout that range
  • Car has 19,000 miles on it and has about 8,000 miles on the current alignment.
  • Car is bone stock other than the wheels/tires.
Hope somebody has some brilliance! Thanks in advance.
Old 12/6/11, 02:08 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
There is a TSB out for clunky control arms sounds like that may be what your issue is. Do a search for info or take it in to the dealer to see what they say.
Old 12/6/11, 02:24 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Originally Posted by 99mstng
There is a TSB out for clunky control arms sounds like that may be what your issue is. Do a search for info or take it in to the dealer to see what they say.
Thanks - I'd thought about that but can't figure out why the snow tires would make the noise suddenly happen. Unless it was more due to the temperature, not the tires.
Old 12/7/11, 11:21 AM
NOT CURRENTLY ACTIVE ON THIS SITE! DO NOT USE PM FEATURE!

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
Originally Posted by kylerohde