The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums

The Mustang Source - Ford Mustang Forums (https://themustangsource.com/forums/)
-   Suspension, Brakes, and Tire Tech (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f821/)
-   -   Noisy Front Suspension with Snow Tires on (https://themustangsource.com/forums/f821/noisy-front-suspension-snow-tires-502781/)

kylerohde 12/6/11 09:21 AM

Noisy Front Suspension with Snow Tires on

Hey guys - I've only had my snow tires on for a couple weeks and this is my first time with 'em, so bear with me if I should know this but...

With the snow tires on, the suspension really creaks a lot under moderate to hard braking pressure from maybe 15 MPH down to full stop. It sounds like it's coming from the front only, but I could be wrong. A couple other notes:
  • Tires/wheels are Bridgestone Blizzak LM-60 and Ford Racing '07 GT-500 look wheels, both the factory 18" size
  • Lugs were torqued to 100 lb/ft and have been checked repeatedly since installation
  • Tires are at 32 PSI
  • Temperature has ranged from 25-55 since I've installed them and the noise has happened throughout that range
  • Car has 19,000 miles on it and has about 8,000 miles on the current alignment.
  • Car is bone stock other than the wheels/tires.
Hope somebody has some brilliance! Thanks in advance.

99mstng 12/6/11 02:08 PM

There is a TSB out for clunky control arms sounds like that may be what your issue is. Do a search for info or take it in to the dealer to see what they say.

kylerohde 12/6/11 02:24 PM

Originally Posted by 99mstng (Post 6194872)
There is a TSB out for clunky control arms sounds like that may be what your issue is. Do a search for info or take it in to the dealer to see what they say.

Thanks - I'd thought about that but can't figure out why the snow tires would make the noise suddenly happen. Unless it was more due to the temperature, not the tires.

FordService 12/7/11 11:21 AM

Originally Posted by kylerohde (Post 6194798)