2015 - 2023 MUSTANG Discuss everything 2015-2023 S550 Mustang

Slip the clutch or dump it?

Search this Thread

Old 5/18/15, 08:07 PM
V6 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Slip the clutch or dump it?

So I'm still learning how to drive my '15 GT aggressively, and sometimes really shake and rattle the car when shifting above 6k RPM. Do I want to just be dumping the clutch flat out at such high rpm's? It seems like slipping it at such power would really burn it up good. Sometimes I nail the shift point and you really feel that torque let out, othertimes it just feels "wrong".

The same applies for down shifting, should I be slipping it at all to help rev match or just find it as quickly as possible and hope for the best?
Old 5/18/15, 08:38 PM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 667 Likes on 541 Posts
Basic car clutch operation 101:

You want to go from disengaged to engaged with minimum amount of slippage, lest you kill the clutch.

The enemy of a dry, single plate clutch is slipping. So no, you do NOT want to slip the clutch unless you have to. Typically the start from a stop is where you sort of have to, unless you just wanna do the burnout thing or the shudder start/stop/start bog down thing, your call.

As to the high RPM thing, you want to learn where your rev matching is. This allows you to engage the clutch while the engine RPM and the gearbox RPM for the gear is closely matched. The engine will match RPMs when the clutch is engaged. This simply takes time, but you might want to go learn how a motorcycle clutch/gearbox works, because once you get the whole 'friction zone' thing, then you can relate that to the clutch of a car.