5.0L GT Modifications Placeholder for future motor based GT's modifications.

FRPP Prototype Intake Manifold

Search this Thread

Old 10/4/10, 11:13 AM
Mach 1 Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by KonaBlue5.0
I don't mean to point out the irony of this post, but, just in case you weren't kidding: You do realize "plastic" is a polymer, right?

Polymer isn't an actual substance. It's a phrase used to describe many, many types of molecules. Using the word "plastic" in place of "polymer" is a common mistake, but not altogether wrong. What is altogether wrong, though, is trying to make someone feel stupid when you yourself don't even know what you're talking about.

LOL STOOOPID IT'S NOT PLASTIC, IT'S POLYMER LOLOLOL
I wasn't going to say anything. I realize I'm not an expert on the subject but ****, even I know there are literally hundreds of different types of plastic out there, all of which are polymers.
Old 10/4/10, 12:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
To go even farther OT, "carbon fiber" is technically carbon fiber reinforced plastic. Epoxy is a polymer.
A properly designed polymer intake is nothing to turn your nose up at just because there were issues when the technology first hit mass production several years ago. Developments in materials science can happen quite quickly.... who knows we could have mass produced polymer engine blocks every bit as strong as aluminum, yet lighter and cheaper to mfg in 10 years.
Old 10/9/10, 08:33 PM
Bullitt Member

I don't mean to point out the irony of this post, but, just in case you weren't kidding: You do realize "plastic" is a polymer, right?

Polymer isn't an actual substance. It's a phrase used to describe many, many types of molecules. Using the word "plastic" in place of "polymer" is a common mistake, but not altogether wrong. What is altogether wrong, though, is trying to make someone feel stupid when you yourself don't even know what you're talking about.