Notices
Kona Blue Kona Blue 2010+ Mustangs

my mustang has FINALLY arrived! hello from a total newbie

Search this Thread

Old 9/1/11, 01:37 PM
Shelby GT350 Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by paesce
haha...alright. well I have to say at the moment in city driving the display is mostly indicating mileages of like 11-12 mpg. and this even though I'm trying to keep the rpm's low al the time since I'm also want to break the car in decently. but I guess this is just because it's so new and will get better after some time, right?
The dash display is always off a little. I calculated it manually once and it was off by about 2mpg. 11-12mpg is not uncommon if you're in stop n go traffic. I average half city n highway on my daily commute and at the end of my tank the dash is usually around 15.9mpg. I'm running 3.73's and a 93 tune though which decreases my mpgs a bit. Add in the difference its off by and that's not too bad. Have fun with that car! Do what I do sometimes and shut the display off lol. Not sure if you have MT, but I always shift 1-3-5 or 2-4-6 while driving around town. That will help conserve a little.
Old 9/1/11, 02:18 PM
V6 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
thanks for the info and the advice! I do have a manual and I think I have the 3.55s. well I just think the difference between city and highway is pretty big and today I got the worst figures so far because every red light I came across I had to stopp and there was just lots of traffic, so extremely stop and go. last sunday I did a trip with mostly highway driving and then I had an average of about 21 mpg.
I will try to experiment with the said gear jumps and sometimes I also notice the skip **** makes me shifting from 1st into 4th.
Old 9/1/11, 03:11 PM
Shelby GT350 Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts