Repair and Service Help All Repair related problems, issues, TSBs, and anything else revolving around the Repair of your Mustang

Take it or leave it?

Search this Thread

Old 1/10/13, 09:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Take it or leave it?

First off, apologies if I have posted in the wrong section. I didn't see anywhere fitting.

My mom (61) has a 2005 Mustang GT 5 speed that she bought new in 2004. Long story short, her engine broke. I am not a mechanic, obviously so I am not positive exactly what happened, but the dealership said she would need a new engine. Rather than pay the $6k they quoted her, she has decided to sell... I think I might be interested. The only other problem the car has ever given her is that she also recently replaced a cam. 100k. babied, never raced. besides a low oil incident, it has been meticulously maintained. near perfect body, tranny is perfect, etc.

what should I offer on this? should I offer? what else should I look for? I may not be a trained mechanic, but I did most of the maintenance on my jetta when I owned it, so I know basic stuff.

any suggestions would be awesome! I would love to pick this car up, upgrade to a better than stock engine, and clutch and have this as my toy...
Old 1/10/13, 09:17 PM
V6 Member

I know you can get a engine used for around 2-4k. If this is your moms car why not ask her to take it and just use the money to fix it? Though to be honest paying her 6k plus the price of a engine and install you could have bought a 99-04 GT. Also I have seen 05 GT's going for 12-16k though miles will vary greatly depending on price and location.
Old 1/10/13, 09:20 PM
Tasca Super Boss 429 Member

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Put the money on a 13. You'll be in over your head getting that car back to speed. Time and money. No one likes a car payment but at 100k that car has seen better days.
Old 1/10/13, 09:39 PM