Notices
2010-2014 Mustang Information on The S197 {GenII}
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Who is a "first time" Mustang owner, age, and why?

Search this Thread

Old 6/21/10, 06:44 AM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'll be a first-time Mustang owner any day now. Muscle cars didn't figure prominently in my younger years, but I did drive a red 1968 Mustang convertible pedal car when I was little, haha. My Mom drove a white Mustang during the early '80's (a gelding IMHO). After I graduated from college, I drove a '90 Toyota Corolla, a '93 Mazda MX-6, and a '99 Toyota Camry. For a couple of years, the new car itch has been building, but I hadn't found a car that felt like "IT."

We found ourselves in an unexpected financial situation this spring, and after paying off the house, my spouse ordered a 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS in mid March. The explanation was 1) childhood memories of a brother-in-law's Camaro, 2) spouse's company now supplies steel for several Camaro parts, and 3) it's our patriotic duty to buy American Muscle to stimulate the economy.

Two weeks later, the spouse turned to me one afternoon and said, "You really need to test drive a new Mustang GT!" So I did. It was my first time in a manual transmission in 11 years; surprising how it comes back to you when you slide behind the wheel. What can I say? I found "IT." Another week of online research, and I went in to my local dealer and ordered a 2011 in early April. Simultaneously, I started driving the XXXX out of my pedestrian white Camry. The car doesn't know WHAT to think... nor do my coworkers. If they are this freaked out by the tame maneuvers I can execute in the Camry, it's a sure bet they will WET THEMSELVES if they ride in the Mustang. Maybe I should put a towel over the passenger seat...
Old 6/22/10, 08:44 PM