Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

S-197 Safe Jacking Points ???

Search this Thread

Old 9/15/20, 08:34 AM
GT Member

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
S-197 Safe Jacking Points ???

Its my first time doing brakes and shock/struts soon, i have some question regarding jack stand points. Ive searched abit but seems inconsistent with the replies ive seen. Red boxes below(view image to have a bigger view) are the points i would like to place my jack stands and ill be jacking the car up by the jack rails under the rocker panels.

Jack stand on spots like in front of lca and end of the middle frame rails safe? What about jack stand points next to jacking rails under rocker panels? On the side note will lifting the front end one side at a time and working on the car twist the front chassis with mustang heavy front engine design?

Last edited by Winkawak; 9/15/20 at 08:36 AM.
Old 9/15/20, 09:38 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts
I have used these points except the ones under the a

frames with no problems. If you do much work on your car get yourself some Steeda Jack rails as it is a real time saver.
Old 9/15/20, 10:08 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 668 Likes on 542 Posts
For what my thoughts on this subject are...

I am not happy putting a weirdly shaped jack stand on a flat frame bar. It seems... iffy. The 'mating' surface is uneven and would make me nervous I bump the car and... um.. things happen. I want a stable location. Also, many of these places are in the way with the stands and what I want/need to do.

Therefore the pinch welds are the answer here. Strong, good point of contact, and it settles into the jack stand, ain't going anywhere if you center it right, period. Yeah, yeah, paint/deform... I've been doin' this enough to learn that the paint issue is the same no matter what unless you use trickery/mats/pads, and deformation is possible no matter what. Also speed bumps happen, that's great for paint/deformation... Movin' on.