Sponsored By:

Installed JMS PedalMax... wow!

Search this Thread

Old 10/15/14, 11:41 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by UltraKla$$ic
http://mustangforums.com/forum/2005-...html?styleid=7

I did this FREE mod over 3 years ago. Same thing but free.
Looks really good, noticed this is for an 05-09 model is the gas pedal the same in the 11-14's?
Old 10/15/14, 12:30 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
It looks like it helps the throttle lag but the PedalMAX supposedly "Increases low and mid-range horsepower and torque." I certainly can feel it on mine. I'm not sure if that's just the result of no lag, or it's doing something else.

Anyway, I'm not good with small electronic parts, but someone with an '11-'14 should try it.
Old 10/15/14, 02:12 PM
Cobra Member

Originally Posted by TommyV
It looks like it helps the throttle lag but the PedalMAX supposedly "Increases low and mid-range horsepower and torque." I certainly can feel it on mine.
How is that if it doesn't interact with the ECU?
Old 10/15/14, 02:47 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
My guess as to how PedalMax works (and this is just my guess/illustration- I could be completely incorrect) is a simple "recurve" of the throttle signal. From what I can tell looking at the module on the accelerator, the "fly-by-wire" throttle is like a dimmer switch (except you push the pedal instead of turning a ****).

I think PedalMax probably "resets the curve" something like the graph below. Basically, they've taken the dimmer and weighted it so the first portion of the dial has more effect than it used to. At least that's the way it feels to me- you push the accelerator 1/2" and it sends the same signal that 1" used to. Probably more complicated than that- but that would explain most of the effect.
Old 10/15/14, 02:52 PM
Mach 1 Member