Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Drive shaft and suspension kit

Search this Thread

Old 11/27/18, 02:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Drive shaft and suspension kit

Hi Everyone,

I am starting the long road of upgrading my 2013 GT Premium with Track Pack. I have done some research, but there is one issue I want to be sure of before buying my next part. Currently I am in the first phase of this install which includes the Ford Racing Suspension Kit (ordered, but not installed yet), Michelin 4s tires, and driveshaft shops one piece carbon fiber drive shaft. I am ready to purchase the drive shaft soon and won't be installing these parts until spring. I am a novice when it comes to working on a car, but I would like to tackle these parts on my own and take my mustang in for an alignment only. I like this particular drive shaft as it seems like a quality piece from a reputable company from what I have read. I will also want it for when I go supercharged. My main concern with this drive shaft is if I will need anything extra to avoid a hum or vibration in the car. The suspension kit itself supposedly drops the car ~1 inch front and rear as well as an adjustable pan hard bar, front and rear sway bars. I did speak with the driveshaft shop about their drive shaft. They told me that I should be ok, and that I should not mess with the pinion angle on it in addition to saying "keep it as close to stock as possible". I am conflicted as if the pinion angle changes you would think you would want adjustable upper and lower control arms to get it back to where it needs to be. Perhaps this is because my drop isn't significant and the driveshaft itself is slimmer so there is more clearance. Thoughts on this? Just want to make sure I am good to go to buy, install and drive. Anyone own a lowered mustang with a one piece drive shaft?

Drive Shaft: https://www.americanmuscle.com/dss-c...ft-1114gt.html
Suspension ordered: https://www.americanmuscle.com/frpp-...assembled.html