Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Clay? How much can I screw up?

Search this Thread

Old 3/9/11, 02:48 PM
Mach 1 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Clay? How much can I screw up?

Ok so last week I did some hard core cleaning(lol). I used the black fire polish and then finished it with black fire paint protection sealant. Little time consuming but I think it turned out really really nice. My question is, I still have very faint little water spots in certain areas like the trunck lid. Next time I do this in six months or whatever I have been told that I should always start by claying the car for best results. I have never used clay before. I have watched videos and feel I can do it, but I was wondering can I damage my paint at all with claying if I screw up? Do you guys use clay? I am just looking for advice for the best possible paint look. I have owned my 11 for 9 months and it has 1900 miles on it and sits in my garage with a cover on it. I can afford to put the time into it cause it never sits in the sun and never rides in inclement weather. So calling all detail freaks, what is your advice for the next time? Thanks
Old 3/9/11, 02:55 PM
GTR Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
My guess is that you will not be able to remove the water spots you are talking about, probably under the clear coat or embedded in it.

The clay bar is very minimally abrasive and if you use the lubricant you can't really screw anything up.
Old 3/9/11, 04:12 PM
V6 Member

Originally Posted by mystickeith50