Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

2011 Financing question

Search this Thread

Old 5/7/10, 11:00 AM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2011 Financing question

Hi, I ordered a Race Red Cali Special late February without the knowledge that I could argue down the price so I ordered at MSRP. With tax I'm looking at 41k

The car was built and has an ETA of today, but I'll be gone for the weekend so it's likely to arrive while I'm away.

I have been saving up for this car for around 5-6 months and I have a hefty down payment ready and I just got a loan approval from the credit union at the naval base I work on. I got a higher interest rate than I expected at around %6. I need to get that lower to afford the car.

My question is this, can I go to my dealership and convince them to give me a 0% loan? I'm putting 15k down and can afford to go higher. Would that kind of down payment warrent a 0%. Would ANY down payment effect my chances of getting a 0%? Could I argue that since I'm paying MSRP they are already making more money off of me than I am comfortable with. Could I threaten to go to a different dealership and scare them into giving me a good loan? Could I just politely ask and they would do it since i'm already putting around 36% of the cost down?

I can't really afford to reorder since my current car will be unavailable by next month (parents are taking it back and giving it to my sister who needs it). I can't go all summer without a car. Not to mention I've fallen in love with this car as I ordered it and don't think I could stand to go with any other style or options in a stock setup somewhere else.

Since I can't go anywhere else I want to get my total cost of this car down to a reasonable level, but I could threaten to bail since they only have a $200 check to hold my order. What should I do?

Last edited by HokieCodeMonkey; 5/7/10 at 11:03 AM.
Old 5/7/10, 11:01 AM
eci
Banned