05-09 Interior and Audio Mods Enhancing Your Mustang's Interior and Sound System

Door subwoofers not working with pioneer head unit.

Search this Thread

Old 3/22/21, 01:36 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Door subwoofers not working with pioneer head unit.

I have a 2005 mustang gt with the Shelby 500 system. A couple months ago, I replaced that with the pioneer dmh-2660nex head unit. It worked great. My speakers were stick, and the head unit worked very well with the 8” door subwoofers. A couple weeks ago, I installed the Shelby kicker 8” subs in the doors. I am fairly confident that they were installed correctly. The instructions, specified for my car, were followed to the letter. For a couple weeks, I assumed that the subs needed to break in or something like that. I am very new to audio systems, this was clearly stupid. I’d also read online that they were quite a bit quieter than the booming stock subs, so I thought it was normal. Today I was messing with settings in the pioneer head unit and I realized that nothing at all was coming through the subwoofers. I do not have any idea what the problem is. The head unit worked fine with the stock subs. I’m not sure why they aren’t working with the new ones. Any ideas?
Old 3/22/21, 05:11 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 1,547 Likes on 1,060 Posts
first guess is a wiring problem; I guess that is pretty obvious but that would be the first thing to double-check . . . could be as simple as the connectors not plugged in all the way
Old 3/22/21, 10:42 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 670 Likes on 542 Posts
Something tickles the back of my brain (which is odd, as brains don't typically feel tickles directly, and also that's where the visual cortex is, so why would I feel a tickle, when instead I should see it...?)

...um...