Aftermarket 2005+ Mustangs Discuss the Offerings from Roush, Saleen, Steeda, Shinoda, and Others

Question about suspension

Search this Thread

Old 4/8/05, 11:43 AM
Cobra Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hey guys, I figured I'd ask because I know there are a lot of you that are experts at this stuff and I am definately not

I read that the suspension on the Cobra is different because of the shock towers, panhard bar, etc.

What I was wondering is could a person who buys just a regular GT lower that GT and put in the panhard bars and basically get the same type of suspension out of the GT or no?

The reason being, I seriously doubt I will have the cash for a 40k plus car and I know I will definately not have the cash for a 60k car like some of the dealers are trying to get but I would like to get the same type of handling performance if I can from the GT.

Thanks for any help
Old 4/8/05, 12:57 PM
Cobra Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Not that I am an expert or anything, but as far as I understand it, yes, you could (springs, shocks, sways, bushings), but I wouldn't advise it.

The GT500's suspension will be dialed in for the heavy iron block 5.4 motor up front. This is a very different weight balance than the GT. Therefore, the front springs/dampers will be stiffer than would be ideal for the GT. This would either create more understeer and probably a higher ride height for the front suspension.

You would get better results if you went with an aftermarket system specifically designed for the GT.
Old 4/8/05, 01:06 PM
Cobra Member

Yeah, that's what I meant, if I were to go with say Steedas Pro Kit or something like that... could I get similar suspension performance with the GT.

The main thing that worries me about getting the Steeda kit is that I live in LA and there are MANY potholes here and I don't want the ride to be so rough that it damages the car.