GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Oil Change Questions

Search this Thread

Old 6/29/05, 07:36 PM
Shelby GT500 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I bought some 5 W 20 Mobil One today and am going to do an oil change tomorrow sometime. This is my first time doing an oil change on the stang. Can you change the oil with the car on the ground or do you have to put it up on jack stands? Also, how much oil are you guys putting in including the filter?
Old 6/29/05, 08:35 PM
Cobra Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I don't have a new Mustang yet, but I would suggest you see if you can get under the car and find the drain bolt. If you can and you can reach it then you probably don't need jack stands.

I hate those things anyway

Also your manual should show exactly how much oil you should put in when you change it.
Old 6/29/05, 09:44 PM
Mach 1 Member

Buy yourself a pair of Rhino Ramps for $30 at Wallmart, and use those. It's super easy, once you locate the drain bolt. It's back far, on the axel side of the "black box." I had trouble finding it, but eventually worked it out. Here's a thread about it.

As far as filling, I believe 6 qts is right, but do a search to double check. It's been talked about.

Good luck and have fun!
Old 7/1/05, 01:15 AM
Mach 1 Member

I put 6 quarts in mine and it showed 1/2 quart low on the stick. This is with the Motorcraft filter and I let it run a few minutes then waited about 5 minutes. Better check yours and go ahead and buy an extra quart just in case.
Old 7/1/05, 06:11 AM
Mach 1 Member

Just confirming what was mentioned above, you should get the 7th qt. It will take about 6.25 qts. w/ filter change. Just start at 6 qts, check you dip stick, and add little by little.

Let us know if you notice any changes in oil pressure (slightly higher), running temp.(slightly lower), or performance (slightly better) after your switch to Mobil 1. I sware I did.
Old 7/1/05, 07:32 AM
Mach 1 Member