GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Dyno Runs: Hydrocarbon Trap

Search this Thread

Old 12/9/04, 06:42 PM
Retired Tms Staff

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Well before I removed the HC trap I was getting an average 18.3 MPG. After driving 1,000 miles in 2 days without the trap I now get an average of 22.8 MPG. Nice improvement if you ask me.
Old 12/10/04, 07:31 AM
Legacy TMS Member

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally posted by 2005RedGT@December 9, 2004, 4:16 PM

I had mine retuned w/o the trap and have have zero errors. now, my service engine light is from the Cold Air Kit, but it runs fine.
Since I am new to mod's, how do you get the light to turn off?
Old 12/10/04, 07:22 PM
GT Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Okay, I took the car to a dyno today to get a good baseline. This shop uses a Mustang dynometer. Here are the results:

First pull: 100% stock down to the paper air filter, 91 octane gas.

HP: 255.7@5250
TQ: 265.6@4250

For the next pull, I removed the hydrocarbon trap located in air inlet. If you want to see what that is go here

HP: 261.2@5250
TQ: 269@4250

On the final run, we removed the paper element:

HP: 261.1@5250

As you can see, the stupid HC trap was worth around 5hp/4tq at the wheels, while removing the air filter had little effect.

These numbers assumed a 19% loss through the drivetrain, so by my calculations, the car is putting out around 323-324 at the flywheel. (A little more than advertised by Ford).

I had planned to install the Steeda underdrives today, but it seems the kit was missing a special bolt. I figure with those installed and a performance reflash, the car should put down near 290rwhp. Not bad. Remember, my car is an automatic.
Old 12/10/04, 07:27 PM
Mach 1 Member

You're supposed to use 87 octane for stock. I'm not sure using 91 octane in stock 05 GT will give any improvements - might make it worse actually.
Old 12/10/04, 07:32 PM
GT Member