GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Clutch question

Search this Thread

Old 1/26/06, 08:51 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I was just wondering, is there a problem with pushing in the clutch for extended amounts of time? I don't, but wonder if it's ok to do.
Old 1/26/06, 09:04 PM
9 is not my lucky number.

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
If you didn't push it all the way you would be "riding the clutch" which is very bad
Old 1/26/06, 09:05 PM
Mach 1 Member

Not such a good idea, at least not a habbit you should develop. This will cause premature wear of the throw out bearing.
Old 1/26/06, 09:06 PM
Bullitt Member

I'm not an expert, but I don't think holding in the clutch (all the way) for an extended period of time will cause any wear. When you push and release the clutch, I think it wears the throwout bearing, and of course when you engage the clutch in gear it wears the clutch plates themselves. When it is just held though, I think nothing is moving and therefore there's no wear. Please correct me if I am wrong.
Old 1/26/06, 09:09 PM
Bullitt Member

I've had manuals on my Accord, Legend, Mustang and Corvette and I've always heard it's better to sit in neutral at a stoplight with the clutch out than sitting in first with the clutch in. The reason is that the throwout bearing wears more while the clutch is pushed in. Oh, and while I've always sat at a light in neutral without having the clutch depressed, I was always on the brake to keep the brake light lit for safety sake. I learned my lesson after someone hit me while I was stopped at a light and said he never saw my brake lights.
Old 1/26/06, 10:34 PM
Mach 1 Member

Originally posted by bryman@January 26, 2006, 10:09 PM