GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

California Legal Intake and Tune Alternatives?

Search this Thread

Old 6/9/20, 04:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
California Legal Intake and Tune Alternatives?

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the Mustang Source. So, I hope I posted to the correct forum and please bear with me.

A number of years ago, I installed a JLT Cold Air Intake and SCT Torque Tune onto my 2005 Mustang GT. I love the combination and have put tens of thousands of miles on the car since these modifications. However, no smog tech is willing to pass me on the visual inspection since the JLT Intake is lacking a serial number.

My questions are, are there any California authorized cold air intakes or tunes that I could use to swap out my old equipment and still get comparable performance? Also, I am open to any other suggestions you fine people might have. Anything helps. Thanks kindly.
Old 6/10/20, 08:00 AM
THE RED FLASH ------ Master-Moderator

Received 2,007 Likes on 1,624 Posts
Please search the sub-forums by selecting the search function menu prior to submitting a new thread. Once you type in cold air intakes, you'll come across plenty of threads which address that topic. In regards to your question, unless the air intake has a certified C.A.R.B number sticker? it's illegal in the communist state of California and will therefore NOT pass visual inspection!

Last edited by m05fastbackGT; 6/10/20 at 11:37 AM.
The following users liked this post:
DiMora (5/27/21)
Old 6/10/20, 10:39 PM
Bullitt Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by REG_II
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the Mustang Source. So, I hope I posted to the correct forum and please bear with me.