GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

C&L Intake System Initial Results

Search this Thread

Old 1/27/05, 02:04 AM
Cobra R Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally posted by Purple Hayz+January 26, 2005, 9:35 PM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Purple Hayz @ January 26, 2005, 9:35 PM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-Mongoose@January 26, 2005, 7:51 PM
As an engineer I look at this super nice alum. casting as a giant heat exchanger which is what it is. Alum is one of the fastest heat transfer materials known. I would be willing to bet that the dyno runs were with a cold engine and the hood up. When someone bulids this system out of composite material that is very low in heat transfer I will purchase. Take a look at the factory system, The air intake is in the coldest area under that hood and the material is plastic and rubber that have a very low heat transfer numbers. Pull out the trap and change the filter to a high flow like a K&N and I'll bet the numbers are BETTER than the aftermarket systems. MY two cents.
You're overshooting a bit, methinks. Will the charge pick up a bit more heat from an aluminum intake? Certainly. But don't forget he'll be flowing A LOT more air, through a conduit with less bends, and an open filter element (no restrictive airbox). The design of the intake will likely offset the losses due to the warmer charge. Combine that with the tune and his gains should far exceed the set-up you suggested.

My .02
[/b][/quote]
Forget the with a tune line. Lets talk witout a tune or a tune for both and I don't think it will flow that much more if at all. I stand by my first statement. I will measure the air temp in a stock unit as soon as I can locate a electrical set up. Do not have a clue what underhood temp. is. When setup I will do it with the hood closed for a real time reading. We don't race with the hood open. Roll On
Old 1/27/05, 05:50 AM
Mach 1 Member

Lee,