GT Performance Mods 2005+ Mustang GT Performance and Technical Information

Best 5 Speed Shifter?

Search this Thread

Old 1/10/09, 02:51 AM
V6 Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Best 5 Speed Shifter?

Hello & good morning. Newbie here with first question. Just bought a 2007 GT CS convertable and have been looking at short throw shifters. Have had them on other previous cars and love em. Problem is that there's so many of them for the Mustang, and its hard to follow input from the many forums.
Basically my question is, which is the best in terms of operation and quality? Money is not a factor, and this is for a daily driver, not a racer. But I do want the best, trouble free, quality shifter.
I know there is the search function but threads usually start off and than wander off the subject.

Looking for some good input, and thanks.
GrumpysGT
Old 1/10/09, 04:00 AM
V6 Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I think it's almost impossible to say which is 'best':
it'll come down to personal taste as to look and feel at the end of the day. I think the Hurst comp shifter looks and performs best, though others dislike the slightly notchy feel and added noise/vibration...but that's just my opinion.
Old 1/10/09, 04:47 AM
V6 Member

Yeah, I realize "best" is subjective. Just that with some other cars I've owned there were 2 or three choices. The Mustang aftermarket is like the Harley aftermarket---there's so much that sometimes its hard to weed through it all to seperate the good from the garbage.
From what I've read, the MGW, Steeda, and Hurst seem to be the most preferred. Just wondering, from you guys that have a short shifter, would you buy the same one again, given the choice?
I'm just one of those car nuts that likes to get the best, and will research it from those that are knowledgable.
GrumpysGT
Old 1/10/09, 05:06 AM
V6 Member

I would...but then I know guys who swear by the MGW and wouldn't go back to a Hurst/FRRP...